Skip to main content
Welcome to the Office of the Professions’ newly redesigned website. Portions of this site may still be under development, so if you experience any issues or have any questions please submit a Website Feedback Form.
  • NYSED Homepage
  • Disclaimer
  • Contact Us
  • NYSED Employment
  • Board Members Only

Certification Of Physicians and Dentists to Use Acupuncture

New York State licensed physicians and dentists who use acupuncture in their professional practice must be certified. This site includes the forms and instructions you need to apply for the appropriate certificate.

To be certified to use acupuncture in New York State you must:

  • be a New York State licensed physician or dentist currently registered to practice
  • meet additional education and training requirements

You must submit an application for certification and any other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions of the New York State Education Department at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for certification are contained in Parts 60.9 and 59.9(e) of the Commissioner's Regulations.

The fee for an acupuncture certificate is $150.00.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, you will be required to pay by credit card.
  • Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form.

*PLEASE NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.

Individuals who withdraw their certificate application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the State Board for Medicine at or by calling (518) 474-3817 ext. 560 or by fax at: (518) 486-4846.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State certification at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the certification fees and meet the certification requirements in place at the time you reapply.

Applicants must have completed:

  • At least 200 hours of instruction in programs in acupuncture registered by the Department, or in programs determined by the Department to be the equivalent of registered programs, and
  • At least 100 hours of supervised experience acceptable to the Department.

Instruction should consist of:

  • At least 100 hours of instruction and clinical demonstrations in general and basic aspects of acupuncture.
  • At least 100 hours of sequential specialized instruction in specific uses and techniques of acupuncture. Topics of instruction shall include: indications and contraindications for acupuncture administration, techniques for locating acupuncture points, needling and stimulating techniques, trainee participation in administration of acupuncture in clinical demonstrations;
  • At least 100 hours of supervised experience acceptable to the Department and under the supervision of a currently registered physician or dentist certified in acupuncture.

Physicians and dentists who wish to practice acupuncture may do so only after certification has been obtained from the Department.

Registered Programs for Certification in Acupuncture for Licensed Physicians and Dentists.

International College of Acupuncture & Electro-Therapeutics
c/o Yoshiaki Omura, M.D., Sc.D., FACA, FICAE, FAAIM, FRSM
800 Riverside Drive, (8-I)
New York City, NY 10032
Tel: (212) 781-6262

SUNY Downstate Medical Center
Office of Continuing Medical Education
450 Clarkson Avenue, Box 1244
Brooklyn, NY 11203
Tel: (718) 270-2422
Fax: (718) 270-4563
Web site:

Complete this form in ink and submit it with the $150 certification fee to the Office of the Professions at the address at the end of the form. Be sure to have your signature notarized by a Notary Public.

Visit Form

This form must be completed and submitted by the educational institution. The Office of the Professions will not accept it if submitted by the applicant.

  • Section I: Complete this section of the form before sending it to the school(s) where you completed your professional education. Be sure to sign and date item 9.
  • Section II: The form must be completed and signed by the Registrar of the school and sent directly to the Office of the Professions by that school official in an official school envelope to the address at the end of the form. A Form 2AC must be submitted for each completed program.
Visit Form