NYSED Now Accepting NCEES CPC Tracking logs
NCEES Continuing Professional Competence (CPC) Tracking Transcripts are now being accepted in NYS as evidence of having met the NYS continuing education requirements. To participate in the free optional CPC tracking service offered through NCEES, please go to: ncees.org/cpc/. Please follow the steps there to set up your CPC tracking account in the NCEES system and review the helpful FAQs about this free service.
Please do NOT submit your NCEES CPC tracking transcript or other certificates of completion to NYSED unless expressly instructed to do so by NYSED staff. Please retain these documents for a period of not less than 6 years from the date a course was taken.
Please note that CE courses must still meet the following NYSED criteria for acceptability:
- Be offered by one of three types of approved providers
- a NYSED approved sponsor, OR
- An entity that NYSED recognizes as able to approve courses on a course-by-course basis, OR
- A college or university with at least 1 ABET accredited program
- Be on an approved subject
- Be in an approved format
- Live or Live webinar – where there is immediate real-time interaction with an instructor, OR
- An Educational activity such as on-line course, teaching, gaining a patent, on-demand webinar, etc.
For more details on these criteria, please see review our Frequently Asked Questions below.
Effective January 1, 2004 licensed professional engineers and land surveyors renewing registration of a license on or after January 1, 2005 are required to complete continuing education requirements.
- If your registration is due for renewal before January 1, 2007, the number of contact hours you will be required to complete will vary, but will not exceed 36 hours for professional engineers or 24 hours for land surveyors.
- If your registration is due for renewal on and after January 1, 2007, professional engineers will be required to complete 36 contact hours of continuing education and land surveyors will be required to complete 24 contact hours of continuing education, in each three-year registration period.
Sections 7211 and 7212 of Article 145 of Education Law and sections 68.11 and 68.12 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education apply to the continuing education requirements. You may request a copy of the law and regulations by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 140 or faxing 518-473-6282 or by writing to the New York State Education Department, Office of Professions, State Board for Engineering and Land Surveying, 89 Washington Avenue, 2nd Floor Mezzanine East Wing, Albany, NY 12234.
This information is designed to respond to frequently asked questions about this requirement. It is not a substitute for reading the provisions of law, rule or regulation.
Amendments to the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education relating to the mandatory continuing education requirements for professional engineers and land surveyors
- The amendments expand acceptable continuing education activities to include professional service on a committee or task force that addresses technical and/or regulatory issues relating to the professional practice of engineering and/or land surveying. The amendments also require that licensees earn at least one continuing education credit during each triennial registration period by participating in an approved continuing education course or educational activity that focuses substantially on ethics relating to professional practice. Detailed information on these changes is available under our Continuing Education - Questions and Answers, specifically questions Nos. 14, 16, 17, and 18.