Any use of the title "Veterinary Technician" within New York State requires licensure.
To be licensed as a veterinary technician in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character; and
- meet education and examination requirements.
Submit an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
The fee for licensure is $177.
The fee for a limited permit is $50 (the limited permit fee is not refundable).
Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, you will be required to pay by credit card.
- Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
- Mail any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form.
NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.
- For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Veterinary Technology Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 250 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.
If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.
To meet the education requirements for licensure, you must have completed a satisfactory secondary school program and hold at least an eighteen month (two academic years) diploma or degree from a college program in veterinary technology registered by the New York State Education Department as licensure qualifying or accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities (CVTEA) or the equivalent as determined by the New York State Education Department.
To meet the examination requirement for licensure, you must pass the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). Students in the final six months of a veterinary technology program registered by the New York State Education Department or accredited by the American Veterinary Medical Association may be admitted to the VTNE. All others must meet all education requirements including award of the degree before being admitted.
The deadline for submitting an application for licensure and first registration with the application fee and having your program submit education verification to the New York State Education Department is 60 days prior to the opening of the American Association of Veterinary State Boards’ (AAVSB) test window.
The New York State Education Department determines eligibility for the exam.
For information on test windows, go to AAVSB’s Web site at https://www.aavsb.org/vtne-overview/the-online-application .
Reasonable Testing Accommodations
If you have a disability and may require reasonable testing accommodations for the examination, complete and submit the Request for Reasonable Testing Accommodations form and documentation. The form explains what documentation you must submit and gives the address for submission to the Professional Examinations Unit. You must be approved for reasonable accommodations before making the appointment for your examination. Questions may be directed to the Professional Examinations Unit at 518 474-3817 ext. 290 or email@example.com.
Applicants Licensed in Another State (Endorsement)
The Department may endorse a veterinary technician license issued by another state if the Department determines you have met New York's education requirements, have passed a comparable licensing examination and have:
- met all general veterinary technician application requirements; and
- not failed a licensing examination used by the State of New York either prior to or after making application for licensure by endorsement, unless you have later passed a comparable licensing examination.
You may be issued a limited permit if you meet all of the licensure requirements except the licensing examination. Your permit will not be issued until all required documentation has been reviewed and approved by the New York State Education Department. If you are issued a limited permit, you must work under the direction of an individual licensed and currently registered to practice veterinary medicine in New York State.
Your limited permit is valid for no more than one year from the date it is issued, or until you have taken and received the results of the licensing examination, whichever occurs first. A limited permit may be renewed once at the discretion of the Department. You may not be issued a limited permit if you have previously held a permit or if you fail the licensing examination.
Last Updated: January 17, 2019