Licensed architects work in a world of evolving technology, increased consumer expectations and other emerging issues. Practice in this changing environment requires ongoing development of knowledge and skills. It is critical that licensees remain current with changes and developments in the profession to render quality services and to ensure public protection. The Office of the Professions is committed to helping professionals stay up-to-date and informed throughout their professional lives.
To renew your registration as an architect, New York State Education Law requires you to complete 36 hours of continuing education (CE) in each three-year registration period. The information below is provided to respond to frequently asked questions about the continuing education requirements. It is not a substitute for reading the provisions of law, rule or regulation.
The statutes and regulations that apply to this requirement are available on this site. In addition you may request them by email at email@example.com, by phone 518-474-3817 ext. 110, fax 518-486-2981, or by writing to the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Architecture, State Education Building - 2nd Floor, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, New York 12234.
Please note that Chapter 578 of the Laws of 2021 made significant changes to the mandatory continuing education requirements for architects. This law is effective May 3, 2023, and this portion of the website has been updated to reflect these changes. Some of the highlights of these changes include:
- Removes any limitation on the number of educational activities an architect may use to satisfy the CE requirement (see question 2);
- Requires first-time licensees to complete CE during their initial triennial registration period (see questions 4 and 5);
- Allows a maximum of 6 hours of CE to be carried over from one registration period to the subsequent registration period (see question 8); and
- Broadens the acceptable subject matter for CE (see question 16).