Skip to main content
Welcome to the Office of the Professions’ newly redesigned website. Portions of this site may still be under development, so if you experience any issues or have any questions please submit a Website Feedback Form.
  • NYSED Homepage
  • Disclaimer
  • Contact Us
  • NYSED Employment
  • Board Members Only

Disclaimer: Sections from the Education Law, Rules of the Board of Regents or Regulations of the Commissioner of Education are presented below for general informational purposes as a public service. Although reasonable efforts have been made to ensure that these sections are current, complete, and accurate, the State Education Department does not warrant or represent that this information is current, complete, and accurate. The statutes, rules, and regulations are subject to change on a regular basis. Readers are advised to consult McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York (West Publishing Corporation) and Title 8 of the Unofficial Version New York Codes, Rules and Regulations - Title 8 (8 NYCRR), published by the Department of State, and the State Register for the official exposition of the text of these statutes, rules and regulations, as well as for amendments and any subsequent changes or revisions thereto.

  1. As used in this section, an acceptable accrediting body for pathologists’ assistants’ education programs shall mean an organization acceptable to the department as a reliable authority for the purpose of accreditation of pathologists’ assistants’ education programs at the postsecondary level, which applies its criteria for granting accreditation of programs in a fair, consistent, and nondiscriminatory manner.
  2. To meet the professional educational requirement for licensure as a pathologists’ assistant, the applicant shall present satisfactory evidence of holding a bachelor’s or higher degree in pathologists’ assistant awarded upon the successful completion of a bachelor’s or higher degree program in pathologists’ assistant, registered as leading to licensure pursuant to section 52.48 of this Title or accredited by an acceptable accrediting body for pathologists’ assistants’ education programs, or a bachelor’s or higher degree program that is substantially equivalent to such a registered program as determined by the department.
  1. Content.
    The licensing examination shall consist of an examination designed to test knowledge, skills and judgment relating to all areas of pathologists’ assistant, including, but not limited to, the basic science of pathology, clinical applications of pathology, all pertinent areas of anatomic pathology, and the practice of pathologists’ assistant as defined in section 8850(4) of the Education Law.
  2. The department may accept a passing score on an examination determined by the department to be acceptable for licensure as a licensed pathologists’ assistant.
  1. Applicants shall pay a fee of $50 for an initial license and a fee of $150 for the first registration period.
  2. Licensees shall pay a fee of $150 for each triennial registration period.

As authorized in section 8855 of the Education Law, the department may issue a limited permit to practice as a licensed pathologists’ assistant in accordance with the requirements of this section.

  1. An applicant for a limited permit to practice as a licensed pathologists’ assistant shall:
    1. file an application with the department on a form prescribed by the department together with a fee of $105 for the limited permit;
    2. meet all the requirements for licensure as a licensed pathologists’ assistant, except the examination requirement; and
    3. practice as a pathologists’ assistant only under the direction and supervision of a licensed physician who practices anatomic pathology and pursuant to the order and direction of that licensed physician.
  2. The limited permit in pathologists’ assistant shall be valid for a period of not more than 12 months, provided that a limited permit may be extended for an additional 12 months at the discretion of the department for good cause as determined by the department. The time authorized by such limited permit and subsequent extension shall not exceed 24 months in total.

An individual who meets the requirements for a license as a licensed pathologists’ assistant except for examination and education and who has been performing the duties of a pathologists’ assistant for two of the past five years prior to November 28, 2017 may be licensed without meeting additional requirements, provided that such individual submits an application to the department on or before November 27, 2019. As part of the application, the applicant’s supervising physician or physicians, who practice anatomic pathology, must attest to the applicant’s experience and competence.