
License Requirements for Athletic 
Training 
 
General Requirements 
 
Any use of the title "licensed athletic trainer" within New York State requires licensure. 
(However, under specified limitations defined in Section 8356 of New York State 
Education Law, you may be exempt from licensure.) 

To be licensed as an athletic trainer in New York State you must: 

• be of good moral character; 
• be at least 21 years of age; 
• meet education requirements; and 
• meet examination requirements. 

You must file an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the 
appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It 
is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material. 

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 162, section 8355 
of New York's Education Law and section 52.27 and subpart 79-7 of the Commissioner's 
Regulations. 

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions. 

 
Fees 
 
The fee for licensure is $158. 

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is 
received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if 
fees have been increased. 

• Do not send cash. 
• If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, 

you will be required to pay by credit card. 
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• Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the 
New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt. 

• Mail any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form. 

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or 
draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any 
other form will not be accepted and will be returned. 

 
Partial Refunds 
 
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund. 

• For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Athletic Trainer Unit 
at opunit3@nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 270 or by fax at 518-402-
5354. 

• The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an 
outside testing or credentials verification agency. 

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York 
State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be 
required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements 
in place at the time you reapply. 

 
Education Requirements 
 
To meet the professional education requirement for licensure as an athletic trainer, you 
must present evidence of receiving either A, B or C below. 

A. A bachelor’s or higher degree from a program in athletic training that is 
registered by the New York State Education Department as licensure qualifying. 

B. A bachelor’s or higher degree from a program accredited by the National Athletic 
Trainers' Association (NATA), the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health 
Programs (CAAHEP), or the Commission on Accreditation of Athletic Training 
Education (CAATE). 

OR 

C. A program, completed before July 1, 2022, that leads to a bachelor’s degree, its 
equivalent or a higher degree, in any major, and have completed as part of the 
degree program or in addition to it: 
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1. 12 semester hours in the professional athletic training content area, which 
shall mean didactic courses and supervised clinical experiences, which 
include, but are not limited to, the following curricular areas: 

a. kinesiology/biomechanics; 
b. exercise physiology; 
c. infection control; 
d. professionalism and ethics; and 
e. prevention and care of athletic injuries  prevention and care of 

athletic injuries, including but not limited to: preconditioning, 
conditioning, reconditioning, recognition, assessment, therapeutic 
modalities, therapeutic exercise, first aid and cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation 

2. 9 semester hours in the human biological and physical sciences and social 
and behavioral sciences content area, which shall include, but are not 
limited to, the following curricular areas: 

a. principles of human anatomy and physiology; 
b. neuroscience; 
c. nutrition; 
d. pharmacology; 
e. psychology and sports psychology; and 
f. counseling, education, and communication skills. 

3. 1,500 clock hours of clinical or work experience in the practice of athletic 
training* supervised by: 

a. a New York State Certified Athletic Trainer, or 
b. a NATABOC certified Athletic Trainer (ATC). 

*Section 8352 of New York State Education Law defines the practice of the profession 
of athletic training as: " 

1. The prevention, recognition, examination, evaluation, assessment, management, 
treatment and rehabilitation of athletic injuries; 

2. The recognition of illness and referral to the appropriate medical professional with 
implementation of treatment pursuant to physician's orders; 

3. Instruction to coaches, athletes, parents, medical personnel, and communities in the 
area of care and prevention of athletic injuries; and 

4. The use of clinically appropriate therapeutic modalities and techniques, including the 
use of: 



a. Physical, chemical, and mechanical means including the use of heat, cold, light, air, 
water, sound, electricity, massage, mobilization as it relates to athletic training, including 
non-thrust mobilization, and exercise; and 

b. Appropriate preventative and supportive devices and temporary splinting or bracing. 
" 

Child Abuse Identification Reporting: 

In addition to the professional education requirement, every applicant for licensure as 
an athletic trainer or limited permit to practice athletic training must complete 
coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse and 
maltreatment in accordance with Section 59.12(a) of the Regulations of the 
Commissioner of Education. See additional information and a list of approved 
providers for this training. 

Infection Control and Barrier Precautions: 

Every applicant for licensure as an athletic trainer or limited permit to practice athletic 
training must complete approved coursework or training appropriate to the 
professional's practice in infection control and barrier precautions, in accordance with 
Section 59.13(a) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education. See additional 
information and a list of approved providers for this training. 

 
 
Experience Requirements 
 
No additional experience is required beyond the practicum/internship required to satisfy 
the education requirements. 

 
Examination Requirements 
 
To meet the examination requirements for licensure as a certified athletic trainer, you 
must obtain satisfactory scores on athletic training examinations acceptable to the State 
Education Department. The certification examination of the Board of Certification for the 
Athletic Trainer (BOC) is an acceptable examination. If you have taken this examination, 
you must contact the BOC to request a "Certification Verification" be sent directly to the 
Office of the Professions. Certification verification requests must be made in writing or 
via the Web at www.bocatc.org . For information on the examination, contact the BOC 
at: 
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Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer 
1415 Harney Street, Suite 200 
Omaha, NE 68102 
Toll Free Number: 877-262-3926 
Phone: 402-559-0091 
Fax: 402-561-0598 
Email: staff@bocatc.org 
Web: www.bocatc.org 

Reasonable Testing Accommodations 

If you have a disability and may require reasonable testing accommodations for the BOC 
certification examination, please contact the BOC. 

 
Limited Permits 
 
The department may issue a limited permit to an applicant who meets all qualifications 
for licensure, except the examination, in accordance with regulations promulgated 
therefor. 

Limited permits shall be valid for one year, and such limited permits may be renewed, at 
the discretion of the department, for one additional year. 

The fee for each limited permit and for each renewal shall be seventy dollars. 

A limited permit holder shall practice only under the supervision of a physician as 
determined in accordance with the commissioner's regulations. 
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