To: New York State Licensed Dentists and Other Interested Parties
From: Frank Muñoz, Associate Commissioner and Lawrence H. Mokhiber, Acting Executive Secretary
Date: April 2008
Subject: Important Information About Mandatory Continuing Education for Dentists Including Changes to Minimum Requirements and Mandated Courses
Recent changes to New York State Education Law and the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education have initiated a three-step change in the continuing education requirement. These changes will affect the number of hours required to renew your registration as well as what courses must be completed. The purpose of this memorandum is to provide additional information concerning these changes.
During the next registration period beginning on or after January 1, 2008, each dentist who is required to complete continuing education must, on a one-time basis, complete a three-hour course in New York State jurisprudence and ethics. This course is currently being developed for approval by the New York State Board for Dentistry. We will post details on our website.
Beginning July 1, 2008, the number of hours needed to reregister will increase from 45 hours per three-year registration to 60 hours per three years. The requirement will be prorated for each month beginning July 1, 2008 until the end of the licensee's registration period. All subsequent triennial registration periods beginning on or after July 1, 2008 will require the completion of 60 hours of continuing education.
As of January 1, 2009, all dentists must receive and maintain certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). If a dentist is physically unable to perform CPR, he or she may request an exemption by
Application to Request an Exemption from the Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Requirement
50 KB). The request must be accompanied by a statement from the professional treating the disability and a signed assurance naming another individual or individuals who will maintain CPR certification and be present in the office while the exempt dentist is seeing patients.http:/dentists.
As further information becomes available it will be posted on our Web site at http:/dentists. We recommend checking frequently for the most current information.
We hope this information is helpful. If you have any questions or need further information, please contact the Acting Executive Secretary to the State Board for Dentistry, Lawrence H. Mokhiber, by e-mailing email@example.com, or by calling (518) 474-3817 ext. 550, or by faxing (518) 473-0567.
cc: State Board for Dentistry Members