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Application for Approval as a Continuing Education
Provider for Licensed Master Social Workers and
Licensed Clinical Social Workers

Instructions: Complete this application and submit the entire form, along with the $900 application
fee, and any required information to the Office of the Professions at the address listed at the end of
this form. Make check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department (SED).
By submitting this form, the organization agrees that this fee is for evaluation and consideration, not
approval, of the application and is non-refundable. Applications must be submitted at least 90 days
(45 days for a renewal application) prior to the date on which continuing education programs will
begin. NOTE: When issued, approvals are for a three-year period.

Department Use Only

] | 73 [$900

VN

Check one: ] Initial Application [] Renewal Application (see page 4)

Approved Effective Date

Courses will be offered to (check all that apply): [ Licensed Master Social Workers
[ Licensed Clinical Social Workers

Denied Notification Date

Name of Organization:

Mailing Address:

Contact Person:

Telephone Number:

Fax Number:

E-mail Address:

Please indicate whether the organization is approved to provide continuing education programs in any profession within New

York State and/or other jurisdictions of the United States.

Professions:

Jurisdictions:

Has any jurisdiction denied, restricted or terminated your authorization to provide continuing education? [ ] Yes
If yes, please explain, identifying the jurisdiction and contact person (attach additional sheets if necessary).

[] No
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Each item below is a standard for SED approval as a continuing education provider for social workers as set forth in section 74.10(i) of
the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education (Commissioner's Regulations). To demonstrate that the organization is in compliance
with these standards, please provide the information requested below.

Standard 1 - Organization. Applicant is an organized educational entity or entity that has expertise in the professional area being
taught.

1. The organization indicated on page 1 is (check one):

[ ] anational social work organization or other professional organization, including specialty boards

[] aNew York State social work organization that is incorporated or otherwise organized in New York State

[] a national organization of jurisdictional boards of social work

[] a higher education institution that offers a graduate social work program or programs, as defined in Part 52.30 of the
Commissioner's Regulations

[] a graduate school of social work, accredited by the Council on Social Work Education

[] a higher education institution in New York State or another jurisdiction that is accredited and offers graduate coursework that is
directly related to social work practice

[] a psychotherapy institute chartered by the Board of Regents that offers coursework that is directly related to social work practice

[] an entity operated under an operating certificate issued in accordance with articles 16, 31 or 32 of the New York State Mental
Hygiene Law

[ ] an entity, hospital, or health facility as defined in section 2801 of the New York State Public Health Law

[] None of the above but is (check all that apply and elaborate as necessary)

[] anindividual with the expertise to provide continuing education to New York State social workers

[] an organization desiring to provide continuing education to New York State social workers

[] an organization that proposes to offer courses of learning or self-study programs

[] an organized educational entity with expertise in social work education and practice

[] an entity that employs licensed social workers and possesses the expertise to offer courses/educational activities.

2. Attach a copy of the charter or certificate of incorporation for the organization.

3. Attach a list of the names, titles, addresses, and email of the organization's officers, boards of directors/trustees; and, if applicable,
principal stockholders.

4. Attach a statement describing the organization's primary purpose or mission.
5. Attach a description of any secondary purpose of the organization.

6. Attach a statement of the goals of the organization’s continuing education program.

Standard 2 - Courses/Educational Activities. Courses/educational activities must be offered in appropriate subject areas, as
defined in law and regulation.

Providers must offer courses/educational activities in the subject areas identified in section 74.10 (c)(2) of the Commissioner's
Regulations, this includes providers of self-study programs.

Any continuing education designed for the sole purpose of personal development, marketing, business practices, and maximizing profits
for the practice of a licensed master social worker or licensed clinical social worker will not be considered by SED as acceptable
continuing education.

7. Submit a course/educational activity description or a copy of a course/educational activity outline/program/brochure for each planned
course/educational activity that includes:

its exact title

subject/topic of the course/educational activity

names and qualifications of the presenter(s) for each lecture or subject/topic

description of course/educational activity content

location, date and time

starting and ending times of each session or lecture

a description of the teaching methods to be used

the learning objectives of the course/educational activity

costs, refunds, and cancellation policies and

the length of the course/educational activity in contact hours.
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8. Submit a description of the organization’s procedures to identify, design, and evaluate course/educational activities before you offer
them.

9. Submit a description of the organization’s procedures and methods to evaluate the effectiveness and overall quality of your
courses/educational activities, including the role of participants in the evaluation process and the basis on which courses/educational
activities are updated, modified or discontinued.
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Standard 3 - Instructors. Instructors are qualified to teach the courses/educational activities which will be offered.

10. Attach a description of the organization’s procedures and criteria for selecting instructors.

11. Attach a description of the organization’s procedures and criteria for evaluating instructors' performance.

12. Provide a roster of full-time and part-time instructors, if applicable.

13. Provide a curriculum vitae or resume for each instructor that: (1) demonstrates his or her qualifications to conduct the
course(s)/educational activities; and (2) includes at least his or her: (a) name; (b) current employment title; (c) degree(s) earned, with
name and location of institution, major, and date received; (d) licensure status (if applicable); (e) teaching experience; and (f) previous
professional positions.

14. Provide job descriptions for instructors if specific instructors have not been identified for a particular course or educational activity.

15. Provide a roster of all full-time and part-time administrators, if applicable.

Standard 4 - Assessment of Learning. Provider has a method of assessing the learning of participants.

16. Attach a description of the organization’s method(s) of assessing the learning of participants in courses/educational activities that: (1)
are appropriate to the course/educational activity objectives and educational methods; and (2) measure the extent to which the
course objectives were accomplished.

17. Attach a copy of course evaluation instrument by which participants will provide feedback and evaluate the course/educational activity
and instructor.

Standard 5 - Records. Provider must maintain records for at least six years from the date of completion of
coursework/educational activity.

18. Approved providers must create and maintain for at least six years the following records for each course or educational activity:

the date and location of the course/educational activity

the name and curriculum vitae of the instructor/presenter

the objectives and learning methods of the course/educational activity

the outline of the course/educational activity, the assessment methods used, and the number of contact hours of the
course/educational activity

a summary of any evaluation of the course/educational activity

copies of all promotional materials used in a course/educational activity

any evaluation of the need for the course/educational activity and

the list of licensed practitioners in attendance, including the profession(s) in which each is licensed.
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19. Attach a description of the organization's policy and procedures to assure storage, confidentiality, and retrieval of records for a six-
year period.

20. Indicate the street address where the records will be accessible to SED and the name and contact information for the person
responsible for providing such access to SED upon its request

21. Provide a sample copy of the certificate of completion/participation the organization will provide to each licensed practitioner who
completes a course/educational activity. The certificate must include: (a) the organization's name; (b) the name of the participant; (c)
the date and location of the course/educational activity; (d) the course/educational activity title; (e) the educational method used (e.g.,
lecture, self-study); (f) the number of contact hours; and (g) a statement indicating that the organization is recognized by SED's State
Board for Social Work as an approved provider of continuing education for licensed social workers.

22. Submit a signed assurance that: (a) the records will be maintained for six years from the date each course/educational activity was
offered; (b) the provider will grant the SED access to the records upon request; (c) the provider will respond to any SED inquiry
regarding the records; and (d) the provider will notify SED if the address where the records are kept changes. In the event an
approved provider discontinues operation, the governing body of such provider must notify the Department and transfer all records as
directed by the Department.

Standard 6 - Resources. Provider must have adequate resources to provide continuing education.
23. Attach a description of the financial base upon which the organization's continuing activities are funded.

24. Attach a description of all physical resources (e.g., offices, buildings, etc.), administrative organization, employees, student services,
and any other resources available to facilitate continuing education objectives.
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Renewal Application

To renew the organization’s approval as a provider of continuing education for social workers, a renewal application must be submitted no
less than 45 days prior to the expiration date of the organization’s current approval. Please provide all of the information required in
standards 1 through 6. If there is no change in the information in any section, simply indicate "no change" in that section.

Affirmation

The undersigned hereby affirms under penalty of perjury that: | am an officer, director, agent or other person duly authorized to act on
behalf of the entity applying for continuing education provider approval, and further, that the applying entity has complied with the
requirements of section 74.10 of the Commissioner's Regulations. The applicant further agrees to provide SED with information regarding
our organization and the courses/educational activities we offer and agrees to permit SED to conduct visits, as it may request to ensure
compliance with those requirements. The applicant understands that approval, if granted, will be for a three-year period and may be
renewed upon further application (including fee). The applicant also understand that approval, if granted, will be terminated if SED
determines that the provider is not meeting the standards set forth in section 74.10 of the Commissioner's Regulations. The applicant has
enclosed the required $900 fee and agrees that this fee is for evaluation and consideration, not approval, of the application and is non-
refundable.

Signature Date

Print Name

Title

Mail this form and the $900 fee to the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Social
Work, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12234-1000.
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