License Requirements

General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Education & Certification

General Requirements

Any use of the title "registered pharmacy technician" within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a registered pharmacy technician in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 18 years of age;
  • have completed high school or its equivalent, as determined by the Department; and
  • have received certification from a nationally accredited pharmacy technician certification program acceptable to the Department..

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 137-A, Section 6844 of New York's Education Law and Part 63 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for licensure and first registration is $175.

The fee listed is the fee in place when this page was posted. Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, you will be required to pay by credit card.
  • Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Submit any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form.

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.


Partial Refunds

Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Pharmacy Unit at opunit1@nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 250 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
  • The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.


Education & Certification

Education

To meet the education requirements for licensure as a registered pharmacy technician, you must have received a high school diploma or its equivalent, as determined by the Department. You will be required to submit a copy of your high school diploma or its equivalent along with your Form 1 – Application for Licensure.

Certification

To meet the certification requirements for licensure as a registered pharmacy technician in New York State, you must receive certification from a nationally accredited pharmacy technician certification program acceptable to the Department.

Currently, the Department will only accept certification from:

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB)
2215 Constitution Avenue NW
Suite 101
Washington DC 20037
www.ptcb.org/

and

National Healthcareer Association (NHA)
11161 Overbrook Road
Leawood, Kansas 66211
www.nhanow.com/certifications/pharmacy-technician

Last Updated: October 8, 2021