Test Your Knowledge of Law and Practice

Introduction

As a licensed professional in New York State, it is your professional responsibility to know the legal requirements governing the practice of your profession and to be alert to changes in those requirements.

To help you, this self-administered exam, developed by the State Board for Physical Therapy, is intended to provide you with a measure of your working knowledge of those requirements. Full knowledge will help avoid pitfalls that can lead to charges of professional misconduct. If in doubt, study the law and regulations or call the Board office [518-474-3817, ext. 180] or email ptbd@nysed.gov.

The following 25 questions relate to Education Law, Articles 130 and 136, Part 77 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education, and Part 29 of the Rules of the Board of Regents. The first five questions are general in nature, the remaining fifteen are specific to the profession of physical therapy. Select one answer for each question. When you finish, click the "Get Your Score" button and your score will appear (requires that you have Javascript enabled for your browser). An overall score of 100% is perfect; a score 75% to 95% is good; a score below 75% means you may be in danger of violating your professional practice act. A link to the correct answers, with explanations, is provided at the bottom of this page.


Questions

  1. According to Education Law, Article 130, section 6502, to practice in this State, all physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must register with the New York State:
    a. Education Department
    b. Health Department
    c. Office of Professional Discipline
    d. Worker's Compensation Board

  2. What is the function of the Office of Professional Discipline in relation to the practice of physical therapy?
    a. to convict professionals who commit State or Federal crimes
    b. to set guidelines for practice
    c. to monitor consumer complaints
    d. to investigate and prosecute allegations of professional misconduct

  3. With regard to patient records, the Rules of the Board of Regents, Part 29.2(a)(3) require all licensed health professionals to:
    a. retain a patient's records for 6 years and maintain the records of a minor for 6 years and until one year after the minor's 21st birthday
    b. retain all records, including prescriptions, for a period of 7 years
    c. retain a patient's records for 7 years and maintain a minor's records until discharge
    d. retain all records, prescriptions and test protocols for a period of 7 years

  4. According to Education Law, Article 130, section 6502, a license shall be valid during the life of the holder unless the:
    a. Board of Regents revokes, annuls, or suspends the license
    b. Education Department files charges against the licensee
    c. licensee moves without proper notification
    d. licensee practices less than one day per month

  5. According to Education Law, Article 130, section 6508, a board for each profession shall be appointed by the Board of Regents. The purpose of the State Board for Physical Therapy is to:
    a. assist the Board of Regents and the Department on matters of professional licensing, practice and conduct
    b. conduct investigations into misconduct
    c. register or approve educational programs
    d. review qualifications of all candidates for licensure

  6. According to Education Law, Article 130, section 6509, which one of the following does not constitute professional misconduct?
    a. being convicted of a crime under Federal Law
    b. permitting an unlicensed person to perform activities requiring a license
    c. sharing professional fees with a partner authorized to practice the same profession
    d. willfully failing to notify the Department of any change in name or mailing address

  7. According to the Rules of the New York State Board of Regents, Part 29.2, a licensed professional is practicing proper infection control if:
    a. direct patient contact is discontinued when the professional has weeping skin lesions
    b. gown and gloves are only donned if splattering blood is possible
    c. sharp items are placed in the trash
    d. the same protective equipment is used between patients

  8. According to the Rules of the New York State Board of Regents, Part 29.1 and 29.2, which of the following conduct is lawful?
    a. delegating professional responsibilities to a physical therapist assistant
    b. refusing to make available to a patient upon request, copies of health/medical records
    c. failing to wear an identification badge
    d. offering bonuses for a professional service

  9. Physical therapists and physical therapists assistants re-registering with the State Education Department need to provide documentation of his/her completion of a continuing competency requirement when they re-register.
    a. true
    b. false
    c. TEST
    d. TEST

  10. On-site supervision of a physical therapist assistant means that the physical therapist must:
    a. Be in the same building as the physical therapist assistant at the time of treatment.
    b. Be in close proximity, such as in another unconnected building in a group of buildings.
    c. Be in the same room as the physical therapist assistant.
    d. Be in the same building as the physical therapist assistant except as provided in Section 6738 of the Education Law.

  11. According to Education Law, Article 136, section 6731, from which professional may a physical therapist accept a referral for treatment?
    a. chiropractor
    b. occupational therapist
    c. nurse practitioner
    d. optometrist

  12. Which one of the following statements is incorrect regarding the definition of Physical Therapy as stated in Education Law, Article 136, and section 6731?
    a. Physical therapy includes performance and interpretation of tests and measurements to assess pathological, pathomechanical, and development deficits of human systems.
    b. Physical therapy includes the use of physical, chemical, and mechanical means to evaluate and treat.
    c. Physical therapy includes the use of x-rays or radium or the use of electricity for surgical purposes.
    d. Physical therapy is the evaluation, treatment or prevention of disability, injury, disease, or other conditions of health.

  13. The use of a limited permit is necessary for a new graduate of a physical therapy program until such time as the graduate has passed the national licensure exam and been awarded a license by the Department of Education. The permittee shall practice only when:
    a. a licensed physical therapist is supervising on-site
    b. a licensed physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant is supervising on-site
    c. a licensed physical therapist is providing direct, personal supervision
    d. a licensed physical therapist is supervising on-site except when the physical therapist has determined that the program is one of maintenance

  14. Pursuant to Education Law, Article 136, section 6736, the only individual permitted to practice physical therapy in New York State without a license is:
    a. a massage therapist
    b. a physical therapist assistant
    c. a physical therapist licensed in another state
    d. a physical therapy student engaged in clinical practice in an approved program of physical therapy

  15. A physical therapist may direct/delegate a physical therapist assistant to do which of the following tasks?
    a. determine proper treatment progression
    b. measure range of motion
    c. treat a patient before a physical therapist evaluation/examination
    d. write a discharge note

  16. A physical therapist assistant is defined by all of the following except:
    a. a person who works under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist
    b. a person whose duties include evaluation, testing, interpretation, planning or modification of patient programs
    c. a person whose supervision by a physical therapist is determined to be continuous, but not necessarily on-site when a program has been determined to be maintenance or in a school or home care service setting
    d. a person whose duties include patient-related activities as assigned by the physical therapist

  17. Supervision of a physical therapist assistant in a home care service setting requires both the licensed physical therapist and the physical therapist assistant to follow specific conditions. Which of the following conditions is not correct?
    a. the setting of goals and establishment of a plan of care by the physical therapist
    b. an initial joint visit to the patient by the supervising physical therapist and the physical therapist assistant
    c. periodic treatment and evaluation of the patient by the supervising physical therapist
    d. supervision of three to four physical therapist assistants by one supervising physical therapist

  18. Which is true concerning the definition of a physical therapist assistant as written in Education Law Section 6738 (d) of Article 136, which deals with the provision of physical therapy services in public or private primary or secondary schools?
    a. physical therapist assistants may treat children at home in early intervention programs
    b. physical therapist assistants may evaluate a child as long as the evaluation is reviewed by the physical therapist
    c. physical therapist assistants must work under the on-site supervision of a physical therapist
    d. physical therapist assistants may treat children in preschools, primary or secondary schools without on-site supervision

  19. Supervision of a physical therapist assistant can legally be conducted by which one of the following licensed professionals?
    a. a dentist
    b. a faculty member of a physical therapist assistant program
    c. a physical therapist
    d. a physician specializing in physical medicine and rehabilitation

  20. Is it lawful for a physical therapist to treat animals in New York State?
    a. only if a licensed veterinarian provides on-site supervision
    b. only if the physical therapist is competent in the treatment provided
    c. only if the animal owner and the veterinarian agree
    d. under no circumstances

  21. Which activities may an unlicensed person perform?
    a. determining goniometry measurements
    b. mobilizing soft tissue
    c. performing ultrasound
    d. transporting patients

  22. Which of the following statements is correct regarding the Notice of Advice Form required for treatment of a patient without a referral:
    a. It must be signed by the patient
    b. The patient must sign the form regardless of the practice setting in which the treatment will take place
    c. It is part of a patient's record
    d. All of the above

  23. A physical therapist may treat a patient without a referral for:
    a. thirty days or five treatment sessions
    b. thirty days or ten treatment sessions
    c. sixty days of treatment
    d. five treatment sessions

  24. A licensed physical therapist is qualified to treat patients without a referral after:
    a. 4,320 hours of practice and 36 months of experience
    b. 4,320 hours of practice experience and three years from graduation
    c. 4,320 hours of practice experience or 36 months of experience, whichever comes first
    d. 4,320 hours of practice experience

  25. Once the physical therapist with the direct access privilege has completed the evaluation, discussed the plan of care with the patient and determined the treatment plan, can the physical therapist treating without a referral delegate treatment to a physical therapist without the direct access privilege, a physical therapist assistant, a student or someone on a limited permit?
    a. Yes, but only to a physical therapist assistant who is being directly supervised.
    b. Yes, but only to a student or someone on a limited permit.
    c. Yes, the care can be provided by a physical therapist assistant, a student or someone on a limited permit, or another physical therapist even though that physical therapist may not have the direct access privilege.
    d. No, no one but a physical therapist with the direct access privilege can provide treatment.


You correctly answered of the first 5 questions, those relating to Education Law.

You correctly answered of the entire set of 25 questions.

Overall percentage:

Answers

Last Updated: September 22, 2009