
 
 
 

  
    

  

 
 

 
   

 
  

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 

   

   

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

  
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

 
   

 

 
 

  
   

 

 

 

 
    

  

 

1. You may file an application for a limited permit with or after submitting an Application for
Licensure (Form 1) and fee as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in New 
York State to practice pending receipt of the license. A limited permit authorized practice 
under the supervision of a New York State licensed, currently registered, physical therapist. When 
applying for a limited permit, it is your responsibility to ensure that your prospective employer fully 
completes Section II, Certification of Supervision. 

2. Complete Section I in ink. Be sure to sign and date item 8. Note: once limited permits are issued,
they may not be adjusted. You should be certain you are ready to begin practice when you apply 
for the limited permit. 

3. Submit this application and a $70 fee for physical therapist, $50 for physical therapist assistant, to
the address at the end of this form. If you have not yet filed an Application for Licensure (Form 1) 
and a fee of $294 for physical therapist, $103 for physical therapist assistant, you must submit 
them with this form and the limited permit fee. Your permit cannot be issued until we receive 
and approve all required documentation. You may not begin practice until your limited permit is 
issued. (Physical therapist applicants: see explanation of exemption in Section II: 
Certification of Supervision). The limited permit fee is not refundable.

4. If you change employment after a permit is issued, you must obtain a new permit and, with each
prospective employer, complete a new Form 5 and return it to the Office of the Professions. A new 
fee is not required for a permit issued as a result of a change in employment. A limited permit may 
be renewed for one additional 6 month period with the appropriate fee. 
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NYS Permit Number 

Initials 

Date Issued 

Date Expires 

3 Birth Date Month Day Year 
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4 Print Your Name Exactly As It Appears On Your Licensure Application

Telephone/E-Mail Address6 

Area Code Phone Number 

Daytime Phone 

E-Mail Address (Please print clearly) 

Mailing Address (You must notify the Department promptly of any address or name changes.)5 

Application for Limited Permit 

2 Social Security Number
(Leave this blank if you do not have a U.S. Social Security Number) 

APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS 

I Am Applying For: 

Original Permit 

Renewal of Permit 

 Change in: 

Employer 

Supervisor 

Additional: 

Employer 

Supervisor 

6 Month Extension 

7 

62 
1 Check which profession you are applying for:

 Physical Therapist 

 Physical Therapist Assistant 

$70 PR 

66 $50 PR 

ATTESTATION 
NOTICE TO PHYSICAL THERAPIST/PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT APPLICANTS 

REGARDING LIMITED PERMIT PRACTICE RESTRICTIONS 

The law authorizes a permittee to practice under the supervision of a New York State licensed and currently registered physical therapist in a public 
hospital, an incorporated hospital or clinic, a licensed proprietary hospital, a licensed nursing home, a public health agency, a recognized 
public or non-public school setting, the office of a licensed physical therapist, or in the civil service of the state or political subdivision 
thereof. As a permittee, you may not practice under the supervision of a physician. 
I declare and affirm that the statements made in the foregoing application are true complete and correct. Any false or misleading information in, or in 
connection with, my application may be cause for denial of permit and licensure and may result in criminal prosecution. 

Applicant’s Signature Date

Last 

First 

Middle 

Line 1 

Line 3 

City 

State Zip Code

Line 2 

Country/ 
Province 



 

 

 
 

  

 
  

 

 

 
    

 

 
 

 
  

 
 

   
 

     
 

     

 

 

 

   
 

 

 

    
 
 

    
                                                                                                                                                                                   
 

 
 
 

     

 
  

   

SECTION II: CERTIFICATION OF SUPERVISION 

INSTRUCTION TO THE EMPLOYER/SUPERVISOR 

Sections 6735 (c) and 6741-a(b) of the Education Law require all practice under a limited permit to be under the on-site supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist in a public hospital, an incorporated hospital or clinic, a licensed proprietary hospital, a licensed nursing 
home, a public health agency, a recognized public or non-public school setting, the office of a licensed physical therapist or in the civil 
service of the State or political subdivision thereof. 

1. By completing the information below, the employer is certifying that the permittee named in Section I will be supervised by a licensed 
physical therapist who is registered in New York State and that the employer agrees to abide by the conditions stipulated on the 
permit. 

2. The applicant may not begin practice until the limited permit is issued. 

3. A limited permit expires six months from the date of issuance.  

4. For Physical Therapist applicants only: Section 6736 (b)(2) of the Education Law, which allows a physical therapist graduate of 
an approved program to practice under the on-site supervision of a licensed physical therapist provided that the graduate has: (a) 
applied and paid the required licensure application fee and the fee for the licensing examination, and (b) applied and paid a fee for 
the limited permit. This exemption shall not extend beyond 90 days after graduation. 

5. A physical therapist serving as the supervisor may not concurrently supervise more than four (4) permittees. 

Name of facility:  

Street address: 

City:  State:  Zip code:  

Telephone:     Fax:  E-mail: 

The above facility is a: (check one) Public hospital 

Licensed proprietary hospital 
Recognized public or non-public school setting 

Office of a licensed physical therapist 

Public health agency 
Licensed nursing home 
Incorporated hospital or clinic 

ATTESTATION 

In accordance with Section II above, I declare that the statements made in Section III are true, complete and correct. Any false or 
misleading information in, or in connection with this certification, may be cause for disciplinary action against my license and may 
result in criminal prosecution. 

I certify that the physical therapist/physical therapist assistant limited permit applicant named in this application is being hired to 
practice at the facility named above and that I am supervising no more then four (4) permittees. 

Name of supervising physical therapist (please print): 

Signature of supervising physical therapist: _________________________________________ Date: / / 
mo. day    yr. 

N.Y.S. license number of supervising physical therapist:  

Telephone:     Fax:  E-mail: 

Note: A limited permit must be reissued if the permittee’s practice site should change or to reflect a change in the 
supervising physical therapist. A new fee is not required. 

Mail this form and appropriate fee to:  New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, PO Box 22063, Albany, 
NY 12201. DO NOT SEND CASH.  Make check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. 
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