Any use of the title "Authorized Polysomnographic Technologist" within New York State requires authorization.
To be authorized as a Polysomnographic Technologist in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character;
- be at least 18 years of age; and
- meet education and examination requirements.
You must submit an Application for Authorization (Form 1) and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
- The fee for authorization for a polysomnographic technologist is $600.
- The fee for a limited permit for a polysomnographic technologist is $70.
The fee listed is the fee in place when this page was posted. Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
- Mail your application and fee to:
NYS Education Department,
Office of the Professions
P.O. Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201
NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.
- For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Polysomnographic Technology Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 270 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
- The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.
If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure application and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.
Polysomnographic Technology Applicants
You must have graduated from high school, or the equivalent, and completed an approved associate or higher degree program in polysomnographic technology or another degree program in polysomnographic technology determined by the Department to be equivalent.
New York State Licensure Qualifying Programs
If, at the time of your graduation, you completed a New York State licensure qualifying program, submit a Certification of Professional Education (Form 2) to your school and have your school complete and return the form directly to the Office of the Professions at the address at the end of the form.
This site has a listing of current New York State licensure qualifying programs. If your program is in New York State and is not listed on this site, contact your school to determine if it is a New York State licensure qualifying program.
Non-New York State Licensure Qualifying Programs
If, at the time of your graduation, you completed a program which is not registered by the Department as licensure-qualifying, you must have your education approved by the Department. Submit a Certification of Professional Education (Form 2) to your school and have your school complete and return the form along with an official transcript or official marksheets and other needed information directly to the Office of the Professions at the address at the end of the form.
All applicants must pass an exam acceptable to the Department. The Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT) examination, Registered Polysomnographic Technology (RPSGT), is the examination acceptable to the Department.
You may apply for a limited permit if you meet all other requirements for licensure in New York State except the licensing examination.
In addition to filing the Application for Limited Permit (Form 5) and the $70 limited permit fee, you must also submit the Application for Authorization (Form 1), the $600 fee for authorization and first registration, and have the New York State Education Department approve your education before your application for a limited permit can be approved.
Limited permit practice must be under the direction and supervision of a physician and under the direct and immediate supervision of a currently registered New York State licensed health care provider whose scope of practice includes all of tasks he or she will be supervising.
Note: If the physician providing direction and supervision is not also the individual providing direct and immediate supervision, you will need to submit a separate Form 5 for each.
Your limited permit will expire one year from the date of issuance. The limited permit may be renewed for one additional year.
You can apply to be authorized to practice polysomnographic technology without satisfying the education, experience and examination requirements if you are:
- at least 18 years of age;
- able to document that you:
- are certified by a national certifying or accrediting board for polysomnographic technology acceptable to the department and able to document that you have practiced polysomnographic technology under the direction and supervision of a licensed physician for at least twenty one clinical hours per week for not less than eighteen months in the three years immediately preceding the receipt of your application. (Expires February 3, 2015)
- have practiced polysomnographic technology under the direction and supervision of a licensed physician for at least twenty one clinical hours per week for not less than three years within the five years immediately preceding the receipt of your application. (Expired February 3, 2014)
For a limited time period, special provisions of New York State regulations permit applicants to qualify for polysomnographic technology authorization by meeting alternative criteria in lieu of the educational, examination and experience requirements set forth in regulation. The regulations authorize the use of specified alternative criteria until February 3, 2014 or until the State Education Department registers four license qualifying education programs in polysomnographic technology.
The State Education Department does not yet have four such registered education programs. The Department has determined that the alternative criteria described below will be in effect for individuals who apply for a polysomnographic technology authorization until February 3, 2015.
The alternative criteria permit an individual to be authorized to practice polysomnographic technology, if he or she:
- is at least 18 years of age.
- is of good moral character.
- files an application with the Department.
- is certified by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists (BRPT), and
- has experience practicing polysomnographic technology under the supervision of a physician for at least 21 hours per week for not less than 18 months in the 3 years immediately before receipt of the authorization application by the State Education Department (see section 79-4.16 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education).