Frequently Asked Questions
- Am I required to be licensed as a polysomnographic technologist by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) if I want to work in New York State ?
Answer: You must be "authorized" and registered as a polysomnographic technologist by NYSED in order to practice as a polysomnographic technologist in New York State.
- Is authorization the same as a license?
Answer: Generally, yes. Authorized polysomnographic technologists are subject to the full disciplinary and regulatory authority of the New York State Board of Regents and the New York State Education Department. The State Board for Respiratory Therapy is responsible for oversight.
- What are requirements for becoming an authorized polysomnographic technologist in New York State?
Answer: To be "authorized" and registered as a polysomnographic technologist in New York State, you must:
- be of good moral character
- at least 18 years of age;
- be a graduate of a polysomnographic technology education program acceptable to the New York State Education Department (NYSED);
- pass the RPSGT exam, which is offered by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologist; and
- apply for a polysomnographic technologist authorization and registration with NYSED and pay the appropriate fees.
- Must all applicants, regardless of the pathway chosen for authorization, pay the $600 fee ?
Answer: Yes, the $600 fee is set in statute and covers the authorization and the first three-year registration cycle. Thereafter, the triennial re-registration fee is $300.
- What test must I pass in order to qualify to be an Authorized Polysomnographic Technologist in New York State?
Answer: You must pass the RPSGT exam, which is offered by the Board of Registered Polysomnographic Technologists. The RPSGT exam is designed to test knowledge and skill essential for safe and effective entry level polysomnographic technology practice.
- Do New York State Education Department (NYSED) licensed respiratory therapists (RTs) or respiratory therapy technicians (RTTs) have to be authorized as a polysomnographic technologist in order to provide polysomnographic technology services?
Answer: No, licensed RTs and RTTs may provide polysomnographic technology services without being authorized as a polysomnographic technologist. However, they must be competent to provide these services.
- Are polysomnographic technology grandparenting provisions currently in effect?
Answer: Not any longer.
- Does the New York State Education Department (NYSED) require authorized polysomnographic technologists to take continuing education