License Requirements

General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Education Requirements | Examination Requirements | Experience Requirements | Applicants Licensed in Another State | Limited Permits | Limited Residency Permits

General Requirements

The practice of podiatry and use of the titles "podiatrist," or "chiropodist" within New York State requires licensure as a podiatrist.

To be licensed as a podiatrist in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age;
  • meet education;
  • meet examination requirements; and
  • meet experience requirements.

You must file an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 141, Section 7004 of New York State Education Law and Section 52.7 and Part 65 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for licensure and first registration is $377.

The fee for a limited permit is $105 and $50 for a renewal.

The fee for a limited residency permit is $105 and $50 for each renewal.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    New York State Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    PO Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.


Partial Refunds

Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Podiatry Unit by e-mail at opunit1@nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 250 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
  • The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure fee and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.


Education Requirements

To meet the education requirements for licensure as a podiatrist, you must present evidence of completing A, B and C below.

  1. Preprofessional Education

    Satisfactory completion of 60 semester hours of college study from a New York State registered program or the equivalent as determined by the New York State Education Department. These 60 semester hours must include courses in general chemistry, organic chemistry, biology or zoology, and physics.

  2. Professional Education

    Received the Doctor of Podiatric Medicine degree upon the completion of a program in podiatric medicine registered by the Department as licensure qualifying or accredited by an accrediting organization acceptable to the Department, or a program determined by the Department to be equivalent. The educational program must consist of four years of study based upon the prerequisite education defined in Part A and must lead to the degree of Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, or its equivalent.

    Accredited Podiatry Schools and Residency Programs

    For information about accredited professional podiatric medicine programs and approved residency programs contact the Council on Podiatric Medical Education at:

    American Podiatric Medical Association
    9312 Old Georgetown Road
    Bethesda, MD 20814
    Phone 800-ASK-APMA (800-275-2762)
    Fax 301-530-2752
    Web www.apma.org/CPME/index.html External Link Icon

  3. Additional Requirements

    • Child Abuse Identification Reporting

      You must complete coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse in accordance with Section 6507(3)(a) of the Education Law. See additional information and a list of approved providers for this training.

    • Infection Control and Barrier Precautions

      You must complete approved coursework or training appropriate to the professional's practice in infection control and barrier precautions, including engineering and work practice controls, to prevent the transmission of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and the hepatitis b virus (HBV) in the course of professional practice. See additional information and a list of approved providers for this training.


Examination Requirements

To meet the examination requirement for licensure as a podiatrist, you must successfully complete Parts I, II, and III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NBPME) examinations.

  1. National Board Examinations Parts I and II

    The Chauncey Group International administers Parts I and II of the NBPMC (Formerly the PM Lexus). National boards are generally taken concurrently with study in a program of podiatric medicine. Part I is taken after the completion of a candidate's second year of study; Part II is taken near the completion of a candidate's final year of study.

    For information regarding the national board examinations, contact:

    The Chauncey Group International - NBPME
    PO Box 6516
    Princeton, NJ 08541
    Phone 877-302-8952

    Your examination results should be sent directly by The Chauncey Group International to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    Division of Professional Licensing Services
    Podiatry Unit
    89 Washington Avenue
    Albany, NY 12234-1000

  2. Part III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (formerly the PMLexis)

    You do not have to be an applicant for a New York State license to apply for Part III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examinations (formerly the PMLexis).

    Part III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiner examinations, formerly the Podiatric Medical Licensing Examinations for States (PMLexis), is administered by computer under the auspices of the Chauncey Group International and Prometric, Inc.

    For information regarding Part III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examinations, including application forms, test dates and filing deadlines, contact:

    The Chauncey Group International - NBPME
    PO Box 6516
    Princeton, NJ 08541
    Phone 877-302-8952

Reasonable Testing Accommodations

If you have a disability and may require reasonable accommodations for Part III of the National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners examination, please follow the instructions for indicating your needs for accommodation(s) on the registration form supplied to you by the Chauncey Group International.


Experience Requirements

You must complete at least one year of supervised postgraduate hospital training in podiatry which is approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education or an equivalent organization acceptable to the Department. One year consists of a period of not less than 11 calendar months of full-time training or the equivalent, as determined by the Department. If you participate in a residency program in New York State, you must obtain a limited permit to practice while you are in the residency program.


Applicants Licensed in Another State

Endorsement, often referred to as reciprocity, is not available in New York for the profession of podiatry. Applicants licensed in another jurisdiction or United States territory seeking licensure in New York must submit an Application for Licensure (Form 1), fee, Verification of Other Licensure/Certification (Form 3) and Certification of Professional Education (Form 2). Contact the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards to transfer the exam scores at:

Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards
6551 Malta Drive
Boynton Beach, FL, 33437
Phone 561-752-3735

Transferred exam scores will be reviewed by the Department to determine if satisfactory.


Limited Permits

A limited permit allows an individual who has satisfied the education requirements for licensure as a podiatrist in this State to practice podiatry only under the supervision of a New York State licensed podiatrist and only in:

  1. a hospital or health facility licensed pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health Law; or
  2. a clerkship conducted by a licensed podiatrist designated as a member of the faculty of an approved school of podiatry for purposes of a preceptorship program.

Limited permits are valid for one year and may be renewed for one additional year with the Department's approval.

The fee for an initial limited permit is $105; the fee for each renewal is $50.

If you are applying for licensure in this State, you may apply for a limited permit (Form 5A) at the same time or any time after you submit your Application for Licensure (Form 1), the $377 licensure and first registration fee, evidence of satisfactory education (Form 2), and demonstration of your compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse.

If you are not applying for licensure in this State, you may apply for your limited permit at any time by submitting the limited permit application (Form 5B), limited permit fee of $105, evidence of satisfactory education (Form 2), and demonstration of your compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse.

A limited permit cannot be issued until the Department has approved your education and you have demonstrated compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse. It is unlawful for the applicant to begin practice until the limited permit is issued.

If you change employment or supervisors after your limited permit is issued, you must apply for and obtain a new limited permit before continuing practice during that one-year period. An additional fee is not required.


Limited Residency Permits

A limited residency permit allows an individual who has satisfied the education requirements for licensure as a podiatrist in New York State to practice podiatry only in an approved post-graduate residency training program in podiatric medicine. A New York State licensed and currently registered podiatrist must supervise all practice under a limited residency permit. However, practice under this permit requires the direct personal supervision of an authorized and competent New York State licensed physician when procedures involve the practice beyond that authorized by Section 7001 of the Education Law.

Limited residency permits are valid for one year and may be renewed twice with Departmental approval.

The fee for an initial limited permit is $105; the fee for each renewal is $50.

If you are applying for licensure in this State, you may apply for a limited residency permit (Form 5C) at the same time or any time after your submit your Application for Licensure (Form 1), the $377 licensure and first registration fee, Certification of Professional Education (Form 2), and demonstration of your compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse.

If you are not applying for licensure or are already licensed in New York State, you may apply for your limited residency permit at any time by submitting the Application for Limited Residency Permit (Form 5D), the $105 limited residency permit fee, Certification of Professional Education (Form 2), and demonstration of your compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse.

Beginning July 1, 2011, the Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME) will require that you pass both Parts I and II of the National Board examinations prior to beginning a post-graduate podiatric residency program. Therefore, if you are applying for the first time for a Limited Residency Permit (LRP), you will have to achieve passing scores on both examinations before you can be issued a permit. This requirement does not apply if you are already in a residency program.

A limited residency permit cannot be issued until the Department has approved your education and you have demonstrated compliance with the required coursework or training in the identification and reporting of child abuse. It is unlawful for the applicant to begin practice in a residency program until the limited residency permit is issued.

If you change employment or supervisors after your limited residency permit is issued, you must apply for and obtain a new limited residency permit before continuing practice during that one-year period. An additional fee is not required.

Anyone who currently holds a limited permit may continue to train under that permit. Instead of applying for a renewal of the limited permit to complete a residency, you will need to apply for a limited residency permit. Also, if you are a New York State Licensed podiatrist who is training or will be training in a residency program, you MUST apply for a limited residency permit.

Last Updated: April 28, 2014