License Requirements

General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Education Requirements | Examination Requirements | Experience Requirements | Applicants Licensed in Another State | Applicants with Foreign Education | Nuclear Pharmacist Application

General Requirements

Any use of the title "pharmacist" within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a pharmacist in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age; and
  • meet education, examination, and experience requirements.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 137, Section 6805 of New York's Education Law and Part 63 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for licensure is $339.

The fee for a limited (intern) permit is $70.

The fee listed is the fee in place when this page was posted. Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    P.O. Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.


Partial Refunds

Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Pharmacy Unit at opunit1@mail.nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 250 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
  • The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.


Education Requirements

To meet the professional education requirements for licensure as a pharmacist, you must have:

  1. completed a program in pharmacy leading to a bachelor's degree or higher from a pharmacy program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) External Link Icon.

    Proof of Education

    Upon graduation, you must request a Form 2 or an official transcript with degree and conferral date be sent directly to the Office of the Professions at the address on the form.

    OR,

  2. graduated from a pharmacy program accredited by the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CCAPP):

    • between 1993 and 2004 (see Section I, "Proof of Education" requirements above) or,
    • before 1993 (see Section III, "Proof of Education" requirements below).

    OR,

  3. completed a pharmacy program that is not accredited by ACPE or CCAPP, and:

    1. have completed a program in pharmacy leading to a degree, diploma or certificate in pharmacy (at the level of a bachelor's degree or its equivalent) recognized by the appropriate civil authorities of the jurisdiction in which the school is located as meeting the education requirements for entry into practice in that jurisdiction.

      AND,

    2. have Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) certification by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP).

      For information regarding FPGEC certification, contact:

      National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)
      1600 Feehanville Drive
      Mt Prospect, IL 60056
      Phone: 847-391-4406
      Web: www.nabp.net External Link Icon

      AND,

    3. the New York State Education Department must determine that the non-accredited pharmacy program meets the following preprofessional and professional study requirements:

      1. Preprofessional Study

        At least 60 semester hours of preprofessional study in the basic sciences and general education content areas, with a minimum of 20 semester hours in the basic sciences content area and a minimum of 20 semester hours in the general education content area.

        Basic Sciences Content Area includes but is not limited to coursework in:

        • mathematics;
        • biological sciences, including but not limited to general biology; and
        • physical sciences, including but not limited to general and organic chemistry.

        General Education Content Area includes but is not limited to coursework in each of the following areas:

        • social and behavioral sciences, and
        • humanities, including but not limited to English.

      2. Professional Study

        At least 90 semester hours of professional study in the biomedical sciences, pharmaceutical sciences, and clinical sciences content areas, with a minimum of 15 semester hours in the biomedical sciences content area, a minimum of 20 semester hours in the pharmaceutical sciences content area, and a minimum of 15 semester hours in the clinical sciences content area.

        Biomedical Sciences Content Area includes but is not limited to coursework in each of the following areas:

        • anatomy;
        • physiology;
        • microbiology/immunology;
        • biochemistry;
        • pathology; and
        • biostatistics.

        Pharmaceutical Sciences Content Area includes but is not limited to coursework in each of the following areas:

        • pharmaceutical or medicinal chemistry;
        • basic pharmaceutics, including but not limited to compounding and dispensing;
        • biopharmaceutics;
        • pharmacokinetics;
        • pharmacognosy or natural products;
        • pharmacology; and
        • pharmacy administration.

        Clinical Sciences Content Area means coursework in clinical applications using knowledge gained in the biomedical sciences and pharmaceutical sciences content areas, including but not limited to coursework in each of the following:

        • clinical and practice foundations;
        • disease processes;
        • clinical pharmacology and therapeutics; and
        • drug information and literature evaluation.

        Additionally, the coursework in the clinical sciences content area must include an appropriate mix of clinical experiences in community and institutional pharmacies and in appropriate inpatient and outpatient settings.

    Proof of Education

    Send Form 2 to your school and ask that they complete and return it with an official transcript directly to the Office of the Professions at the address on the form.

Examination Requirements

You must pass all three parts of the pharmacist licensing exam series within 5 years:

  • Part I: North American Pharmacist Licensing Exam (NAPLEX)
  • Part II: Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam (MPJE) [Study Guide]
  • Part III: Written and Practical (Compounding)
    OR, on or after September 1, 2009, obtain Certification of Completion of Pharmacy Practice Residency Competencies

NAPLEX (Part I)

  1. Admission Requirements

    To be admitted into the examination you must:

    • submit your completed licensure application (Form 1 and fee) to the New York State Education Department, and
    • have your completed education documentation submitted and approved by the New York State Education Department.

  2. Examination Application Procedure

    If you meet the admission requirements listed, apply on-line at www.nabp.net/students/ External Link Icon. NABP will mail you the Authorization To Test (ATT) once New York State verifies your eligibility with NABP.

    National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)
    PO Box 1057
    Park Ridge, IL 60068
    Phone: 847-391-4406
    Web: www.nabp.net External Link Icon

  3. Exam Scores/Test Results

    You can view your NAPLEX and/or MPJE scores online. This service is provided by the National Association of Board of Pharmacy (NABP) and is available on their web site at www.nabp.net/programs/examination/naplex/naplex-and-mpje-score-results/ External Link Icon.

    Although you will now have access to your grades much sooner, normal processing time of three weeks is still needed before an official license is issued.

    You can check the Office of Profession’s license verification system at www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches.htm to see if your license has been issued. Information is updated daily.

    If passing NAPLEX or MPJE is your final exam component and over three weeks have passed and the license has not been issued, you should contact the pre-licensure unit by sending an email to opunit1@mail.nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817, ext 250.

MPJE (Part II)

  1. Admission Requirements

    To be admitted into the examination you must:

    • submit your completed licensure application (Form 1 and fee) to the New York State Education Department if you haven't already submitted one;
    • have your completed education documentation submitted and approved by the New York State Education Department if you haven't already; and
    • have your completed internship experience submitted and approved (Note: PharmD graduates are exempt from the experience requirement; see Internship Experience Requirement section for additional details) by the New York State Education Department as follows:
      • Graduates from ACPE accredited programs or CCAPP accredited programs (since 1993) must submit documentation of completion of 6 months (1,040 hours) of approved internship according to the requirements listed under Experience Requirements.
      • Graduates from non-accredited programs must have a passing score on Part I and submit documentation of completion of 12 months (2,080 hours) of approved internship according to the requirements listed under Experience Requirements.

  2. Examination Application Procedure

    If you meet the admission requirements listed, apply on-line at www.nabp.net/students/ External Link Icon. NABP will mail you the Authorization To Test (ATT) once New York State verifies your eligibility with NABP.

    National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)
    PO Box 1057
    Park Ridge, IL 60068
    Phone: 847-391-4406
    Web: www.nabp.net External Link Icon

  3. Exam Scores/Test Results

    You can view your NAPLEX and/or MPJE scores online. This service is provided by the National Association of Board of Pharmacy (NABP) and is available on their web site at www.nabp.net/programs/examination/naplex/naplex-and-mpje-score-results/ External Link Icon.

    Although you will now have access to your grades much sooner, normal processing time of three weeks is still needed before an official license is issued.

    You can check the Office of Profession’s license verification system at www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches.htm to see if your license has been issued. Information is updated daily.

    If passing NAPLEX or MPJE is your final exam component and over three weeks have passed and the license has not been issued, you should contact the pre-licensure unit by sending an email to opunit1@mail.nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817, ext 250.

Compounding (Part III) - Written and Practical

  1. Admission Requirement
    • To be admitted into the examination you must meet all the eligibility requirements for Part II (MPJE).
    • If you are in your last semester and enrolled in a New York State pharmacy school, your school will automatically provide us with a tentative graduation list.
    • If you are in your last semester and enrolled in an ACPE accredited pharmacy program, you must request your institution to send Form 2 (Certification of Professional Education) directly to the address listed on the form prior to the exam application deadline date. Upon graduation, a new Form 2 or official transcript with degree and conferral date must be sent directly from the school. (We cannot confirm your eligibility to sit for the exam until we receive Form 2 noting an anticipated graduation date.)

  2. Examination Application Procedure

    Send your completed examination scheduling form and fee to:

    CASTLE Worldwide-NY EXAMS
    PO Box 570
    Morrisville, NC 27560-0570
    Phone: 800-655-4845 or 919-572-6880
    Web: www.castleworldwide.com/cww/take-a-test/entry/new-york-state-education-department-division-of-professional-licensing External Link Icon

  3. Examination Application Deadlines

    Deadlines for filing applications and fees with BOTH the New York State Education Department and CASTLE Worldwide are as follows:

    If you would like to take the exam in: Your completed applications must be postmarked by:
    January November 1 of the previous year
    June April 1 of the same year

    NOTE: A completed Form 4 - Certification of an Internship in Pharmacy must also be submitted to the Department by these deadlines.

  4. Exam Scores/Test Results

    The compounding exam scores are released by mail only, approximately six weeks after testing.

Certification of Completion of Pharmacy Practice Residency Competencies

On or after September 1, 2009, if you have not previously sat for the Part III examination, you may obtain Certification of Completion of Pharmacy Practice Residency Competencies as an alternative to taking Part III.

Reexamination

If you must retake any part of the licensing exam, reapply only to the appropriate exam administrator. DO NOT submit another licensure application and fee to the State Education Department.

Reasonable Testing Accommodations

All applicants requesting special testing accommodations for the NAPLEX, MPJE, and Part III: Written and Practical (Compounding) examinations must complete the New York State Request Form for Reasonable Testing Accommodations and supply documentation supporting their request. The Request Form may be obtained online or from opexams@mail.nysed.gov, or by calling (518) 474-3817 ext. 290 or by fax at (518) 473-8577. The Department, in consultation with NABP, will evaluate all requests. Timely submission of your request for reasonable accommodations and support documentation will help prevent a delay in your testing process.


Experience Requirements

A Limited (Intern) Permit must be issued in order to practice pharmacy under supervision. You must apply for, and have been issued, an intern permit before starting your supervised pharmacy practice. All applicants except graduates of ACPE accredited programs leading to the Doctor of Pharmacy degree must complete an internship experience.

You may be granted credit for internships completed in other states, if the internship meets New York State and the other state's requirements as verified on Form 4.

Limited (Intern) Permit

Anyone who has not applied for and received an intern permit from the Office of the Professions, State Board of Pharmacy is not authorized to begin an internship in New York and credit will not be granted for such practice. Only internships done in a registered pharmacy are acceptable.

The preceptor assumes the responsibility for training the intern even though the intern may practice occasionally under the supervision of another pharmacist in the same pharmacy.

If an intern permit is lost or damaged, send a letter to the State Board of Pharmacy to request a replacement. Please include your name, address, Social Security Number and telephone number.

Internship Credit for Foreign Graduates and Early Admission to Part III Exam

New York accepts intern hours accumulated that are in addition to the hours required for both introductory and advanced practice rotations of the ACPE pharmacy curriculum. New York does not accept clerkship or externship hours that form part of the school curriculum and are required to obtain the degree. Credit cannot be given for any hours that exceed 40 hours per week. For calculation purposes, a week is considered a 7-day period and one month is equal to 173 hours.

Internships completed in another state may be accepted as long as the intern meets all requirements to practice pharmacy and is authorized to do so by that State's Board of Pharmacy. Before you begin an internship in another state, check with the State's Board Office to insure that you meet their requirements and that they will be able to certify the hours you will accumulate to New York.

If you have already completed your internship in another state, request verification from that State Board to be sent directly to the New York State Education Department. The verification must include a detailed description of the internship and beginning and ending dates for each session. If you also attended a school in another state, we require your school to provide us with a letter indicating the beginning and ending dates for each semester you attended.

Foreign Graduates

Your internship must be approved before you can be considered eligible to take Part II (MPJE) and/or Part III (Written and Practical) of the licensing exam series. In addition, internship certification (Form 4) must be submitted to the Department before the Part III exam application deadline dates: November 1 for the January exam and April 1 for the June exam.

Early Admission to Part III Exam

Your internship must be approved before you can be considered eligible to take Part III (Written and Practical) of the licensing exam series. In addition, internship certification (Form 4) must be submitted to the Department before the Part III exam application deadline dates: November 1 for the January exam and April 1 for the June exam.

Certification of Internship to Another State

The New York State Board of Pharmacy does not provide certification or verification of internship hours or clinical experiences. All graduates of accredited colleges and schools of pharmacy are required to complete both introductory and advanced practice rotations in pharmacies. Completion of these externship/internship hours is overseen by the colleges. The New York State Board of Pharmacy does not independently audit or reconfirm these experiences. Further, all graduates of accredited programs with a PharmD are deemed to have met all experiential requirements for licensure in New York State. For these reasons we cannot independently certify clinical experiences to other state boards of pharmacy.

An intern permit is required for all students involved in advanced practice rotations and while practicing as an intern under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. Our PharmD graduates are deemed to have completed at least 1500 intern hours. Verification of an intern permit can be performed on our website at: www.op.nysed.gov/opsearches.htm.


Applicants Licensed in Another State *

Individuals licensed in another state applying for licensure in New York State must submit the Application for Licensure and First Registration (Form 1) along with the $339 licensure fee. The form and fee should be sent to the address at the end of Form 1.

You must complete the NABP Preliminary Application for Transfer of Pharmaceutic Licensure and submit it to NABP. The preliminary application form can be obtained at www.nabp.net External Link Icon or by calling NABP at 847-391-4406. The NABP Official Application will be mailed to you with instructions 1 for filing that application with the Office of the Professions.

Applicants must have, during the five year period preceding the filing of their application, at least one year of satisfactory experience following their initial licensure.

Your employer must complete and forward written verification of one full year (12 months on a full-time basis or the equivalent, if part-time) of licensed practice. This verification should be sent directly by your employer to:

NYS Education Department
Office of the Professions
State Board of Pharmacy
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234-1000
Phone 518-474-3817 ext. 130
Fax: 518-473-6995
E-mail: pharmbd@mail.nysed.gov

Upon submission and approval of the above application materials, you will receive a letter and instructions to apply to NABP to take the MPJE (Part II) examination. A study guide is available to help prepare you for the exam.

If you need additional information or assistance, please contact the Pharmacy Board at the above address.

* California licensees who have not passed NAPLEX, Canadian licensees, and graduates of foreign pharmacy programs should contact the State Board of Pharmacy (see above) for further information regarding endorsement.

1 NOTE: If the instructions from NABP indicate that you must pay a licensure fee and you have already submitted the fee with your Form 1, you do not have to pay an additional licensure fee.


Applicants with Foreign Education

The requirements necessary to become a licensed pharmacist in New York State based on foreign education follow in the order of required completion:

  1. Pass the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Equivalency (FPGEE) and the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL iBT) and obtain Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Examination Committee (FPGEC) certification. Information regarding this exam can be obtained from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) at www.nabp.net/students External Link Icon.
  2. Complete and submit an Application for Licensure and First Registration (Form 1) along with the $339 fee for licensure and first registration.
  3. Complete Section 1 of a Certification of Professional Education (Form 2) and forward it to the appropriate academic institution and ask they complete and submit the form along with any other required documentation to the Department.
  4. Pass the North American Pharmacist Licensure Exam (NAPLEX). Apply on-line at www.nabp.net/students External Link Icon. NABP will mail you the Authorization to Test (ATT) once New York State verifies your eligibility with NABP.

    National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP)
    1600 Feehanville Drive
    Mount Prospect, IL 60056
    Phone: 847-391-4406
    Web: www.nabp.net External Link Icon

  5. Complete and subit an Application for a Limited (Intern) Permit (Form 5). You must obtain an intern permit before engaging in the supervised practice of pharmacy in New York State.
  6. Complete one year (2,080 hours) of internship. Additional information can be found under Experience Requirements.
  7. Complete and submit a Certification of an Internship in Pharmacy (Form 4).
  8. Pass Part II - Multi-State Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam (MPJE) and Part III - Written and Practical Compounding Exam.

Nuclear Pharmacist Certification Application

As required in Commissioner's Regulation §63.6(b)(6), a NYS licensed and registered pharmacist seeking certification to handle and dispense radioactive drugs, in addition to meeting the minimal standards of training and experience required by 10 NYCRR Part 16 or by 12 NYCRR Part 38 for the use of radioactive materials, must also provide evidence to the Pharmacy Board of either of the following:

  1. certification as a Nuclear Pharmacist by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties of the American Pharmaceutical Association; or
  2. completion of a minimum of 200 contact hours of didactic instruction in nuclear pharmacy in an accredited school or college of pharmacy, and a minimum of 500 hours of clinical nuclear pharmacy training under the supervision of a Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties certified nuclear pharmacist in a pharmacy providing nuclear pharmacy services, in a certified nuclear pharmacy residency program or in a nuclear pharmacy training program in an accredited school or college of pharmacy or the equivalent thereof as determined by the department.

The form for applying for this certification is available here ( PDF 11 KB).

Last Updated: July 1, 2014