Perfusion Article 165 Limited Permit

Applying for an Article 165 Limited Permit | Fees

Applying for an Article 165 Limited Permit

An Article 165 limited permit authorizes practice as a perfusionist under the supervision of a physician licensed and currently registered in New York State at a hospital where you are employed on a salaried basis.

To apply for an Article 165 limited permit to practice as a perfusionist in New York State, you must submit an Application for Permit (Form 5) along with the $50 Permit fee to the Office of the Professions. You must also have a Verification of Employment by Hospital (Form 5A) submitted by the Hospital where you are employed on a salaried basis.

An Article 165 limited permit holder is subject to the full disciplinary and regulatory authority of the Board of Regents, pursuant to Title VIII of the Education Law, as if the permit were a professional license under Article 134 of the Education Law.

The permit is valid for two years. Permits were reissued by this Department at no additional fee in July 2014 when that termination date was extended to October 2018 to include two years from the original date of issue. Permits that must be renewed now will require the complete application materials, including the attestation of employment by the hospital and the fee of $50.00.

Licensure for Perfusion became effective on October 21, 2016. On that date, or until October 21, 2018, which is the last date when an Article 165 limited permit will be valid, all persons employed by a hospital as a Perfusionist must hold a valid Article 165 limited permit or hold a NYS perfusion license. After October 21, 2018, all persons employed by a hospital as a Perfusionist must hold a NYS perfusion license. Individuals licensed in other professions who are already permitted to engage in these practices within the scope of practice of their professions may continue to do so without the need for this permit. This permit is not required for NYS licensed perfusionists.


Fees

The Article 165 limited permit fee for Perfusionists is $50.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    PO Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned


Last Updated: September 27, 2016