License Requirements: Perfusion

General Requirements | Fees |  Education Requirements |  Examination Requirements | Grandparent ProvisionLimited Permit 

General Requirements

Any use of the title "Perfusionist" or practice of perfusion within New York State requires licensure.

To be licensed as a perfusionist in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age; and
  • meet education and examination requirements.

You must file an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 134, Section 6632 of New York's Education Law and Part 79-19 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for licensure and first registration is $200.

The fee for registration renewal is $150 for each triennial period.

The fee for a limited permit is $105.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    PO Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned


Education Requirements

To meet the education requirements for licensure as a perfusionist, you must either:

  • have successfully completed a baccalaureate or higher degree in a perfusion program registered by the Department, or a baccalaureate or higher degree in a CAAHEP accredited perfusion program or the substantial equivalent as determined by the Department; or
  • have completed a baccalaureate or higher degree and a credit bearing certificate program in perfusion acceptable to the Department; or
  • on or before October 20, 2018, under the Grandparenting Provision, have completed a baccalaureate or higher degree and an accredited training program in perfusion acceptable to the Department pursuant to regulations and submitted an application for licensure to the Department.

Once the Grandparenting Provision expires on October 20, 2018, non-credit bearing certificate programs in perfusion will no longer be acceptable for satisfying the education requirements for licensure. After that date, only credit bearing certificate programs in perfusion that satisfy the requirements listed below will be acceptable for this purpose.

Under 8 NYCRR §50.1(n), credit is defined as a unit of academic award applicable towards a degree offered by the institution of higher learning. Thus, academic credits that lead to certificates, which may ultimately be creditable towards degrees, can be used to satisfy the education requirements for licensure. These academic credits must be issued by institutions, with the appropriate degree granting authorizations from the state or jurisdiction in which they are located, in addition to holding an acceptably recognized higher/professional education accreditation status. Non-credit bearing certificate programs offered by entities without degree-granting authority do not meet this definition.


Examination Requirements

To qualify for licensure as a "licensed perfusionist", an applicant shall fulfill the following examination requirements:

  • has obtained a passing score on an examination acceptable to the department; the certification exam of the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion is an exam acceptable for licensure. Please visit www.abcp.org/ External for additional information.

Applicants Applying Under the Grandparent Provision

(This provision is only available until October 20, 2018.)

Applicants may be eligible for licensure in New York State under the grandparent provision if they meet all the requirements for licensure in New York State with the exception of the examination, experience and education requirements.
Under this provision an applicant may be licensed:

  • If they have five years of experience in the past ten years as a practicing perfusionist in an inpatient setting providing cardiac surgery services in a hospital approved by the New York State Department of Health or substantially equivalent accrediting body acceptable to the State Committee for Perfusion and the department. At least three of the years of experience must occur in the past five years. 

OR

  • If they possess certification from a national certifying organization deemed acceptable by the State Committee for Perfusion and the department and have been employed as a perfusionist for three of the past five years. Certification from the American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion is deemed to be the acceptable national certifying organization.

You must submit full documentation of compliance with all New York State licensure requirements, including professional education and/or satisfactory professional experience, among other requirements, as part of your application for licensure through the grandparent provision.


Limited Permits

In addition to licensure, the responsibilities of a perfusionist may be performed under the authority of two different limited permits. 

  1. An Article 134 limited permit allows a person who fulfills all requirements for licensure as a perfusionist except that relating to the examination to practice as a perfusionist only under the supervision of a licensed perfusionist and pursuant to the order and direction of a physician. A limited permit shall expire one year from the date of issuance. This limited permit may be extended for one additional year for good cause as determined by the department.  More information on the Article 134 limited permit can be found in section 6635 of Article 134 of the New York Education Law. 

You may apply for an Article 134 limited permit if you meet all other requirements for licensure in New York State except the licensing examination. Limited permit practice must be under the supervision of a currently registered New York State licensed perfusionist and pursuant to the order and direction of a physician.

In addition to filing the Form 5 and the limited permit fee, you must also submit the Application for Licensure (Form 1), the licensure fee, and have the New York State Education Department approve your education before your application for a limited permit can be approved.

Your limited permit will expire one year from the date of issuance or upon notice that your application for licensure has been denied, or ten days after you have been notified that you failed the professional licensing examination, whichever occurs first. However, if you are awaiting the results of the licensing examination when your limited permit expires, your permit will continue to be valid until ten days after you have been notified of the examination results.

  1. An Article 165 limited permit authorizes practice as a perfusionist under the supervision of a physician licensed and currently registered in New York State at a hospital where the individual is employed on a salaried basis.  This authority to practice the responsibilities and tasks of a perfusionist preceded the effective date of the perfusion licensure law.  Article 165 limited permits are valid for two years, but in no cases will be valid after October 20, 2018.  More information on the Article 165 limited permit can be found on our website here and in section 8609(9) in Article 165 of the New York Education Law.

 

Last Updated: June 8, 2017