General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Education and Experience Requirements | Examination Requirements | Intern Engineer Certificate | Applicants Licensed in Another State (Endorsement) | Table of Education/Experience Credits | Summary of Requirements "At a Glance"
Any use of the title "Professional Engineer" or provision of professional engineering services within New York State requires licensure, except in certain "exempt" settings. These settings are detailed in Section 7208 of the Education Law.
To be licensed as a professional engineer in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character;
- be at least 21 years of age; and
- meet education, examination and experience requirements.
Submit an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
The fee for licensure and first registration is $377.
When the Department determines you are eligible for the examination, you will be sent an examination eligibility letter. The letter will indicate which of the following exams you are eligible to take including;
- Part 1- NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering (FE)
- Part 2- NCEES Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE).
Fees paid to NYSED cover the processing and evaluation of your application by the Department, as well as, your registration as an engineer for three years from the date your New York State license is issued. Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in effect, by law, when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. * Your cancelled check is your receipt.
- Mail your application and fee to:
NYS Education Department
Office of the Professions
P.O. Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201
*NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.
The examination eligibility letter you receive will include instructions on how to schedule and pay an additional fee to sit for the examination with NCEES and our examination administrator - Castle Worldwide Inc. Please refer to your examination eligibility letter for scheduling and payment of their fees.
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.
- For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Professional Engineering Unit at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 250 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
- The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.
If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.
To become licensed as a professional engineer in New York State you must complete a combination of education and experience for which years of credit are awarded. The credit awarded for your education determines the required number of years of experience you need:
- A total of 6 years of credit is required for admission to the
Fundamentals of Engineering examination (Part A)
- A total of 12 years of credit is required for admission to the Principles and Practice examination (Part B) for licensure.
Experience acceptable for licensure must be of a scope and nature satisfactory to the Department and must be appropriately verified by the Department. The experience must:
- demonstrate the intensive application of engineering principles in the practical solution of engineering problems;
- demonstrate a knowledge of engineering mathematics, physical and applied sciences, properties of materials, and the fundamental principles of engineering design;
- be broad in scope;
- develop and mature the applicant's engineering knowledge and judgment; and
- include at least two years of experience working on projects requiring knowledge and use of codes and practices commonly used in the United States.
All the experience you wish to have evaluated must be described on Forms 4 and 4A and should be accounted for chronologically. Experience descriptions must include specific duties you personally performed, the complexity of the work, and make clear the extent of your responsibility for the work. Please list your experience in a comprehensive, detailed, and explicit manner. The Department will consider only experience that you have completed by the date the application is signed. The quality of the experience, not merely the calendar time, will be evaluated. Time claimed on the forms cannot exceed actual calendar time.
To be licensed as a professional engineer in New York State, you must pass:
- The Part A, the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam, and
- The Part B, the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) exam.
Examinations are developed by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and administered by CASTLE Worldwide, Inc. or Pearson VUE Testing Centers.
All exam applicants are required to read the "NCEES Examinee Guide" prior to being allowed to register for the exam. Please use this link to access the "NCEES Examinee Guide" at: http://ncees.org/exams/cbt/examinee-guide/
Part A Fundamentals of Engineering Exam
Beginning in 2014, this exam will be delivered via a computer-based testing service. The schedule for this exam will begin in January 2014 with a ‘two months on and one month off’ schedule. See the NCEES website for exact dates and deadlines.
For Candidates from a Baccalaureate level EAC/ABET Accredited Program in Engineering:
If you are within 20 credits of graduating from, or have already graduated from a baccalaureate level EAC/ABET accredited program, you are eligible to apply directly to NCEES to take the Fundamentals (FE) exam.
For Candidates from a Baccalaureate level ETAC/ABET Accredited Program in Engineering Technology:
If you have graduated and earned a bachelor’s degree from an ETAC/ABET accredited program, you are eligible to apply directly to NCEES to take the Fundamentals (FE) exam.
- To find out if your program is EAC/ABET Accredited or ETAC Accredited go to the ABET web site here.
- For information about the difference between EAC and ETAC ABET accreditation click here.
For candidates NOT from a Baccalaureate level ABET Accredited Program:
If you have not graduated from either an EAC or ETAC/ABET accredited program with a bachelor’s degree, you must download and submit the New York State Engineering application forms and $70 fee so that your qualifications can be reviewed for approval by the Department. Once approved, you will be made eligible to sit for the Fundamentals (FE) exam via a letter sent to you from the NYS Board for Engineering that will include instructions for how to schedule the exam and pay the examination fee(s) with NCEES.
For ALL FE Exam Candidates:
Information on the new computer based format of the Part A, Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam will be available in early September on the NYSED Engineering web site and on NCEES’ website for your review.
Part B Principles and Practice (PE) Exam
Part B, the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) examination is administered twice a year, in April and October, at various sites throughout New York State. In order to be eligible to sit for this exam, you must first download and submit the New York State Engineering license application forms, and the appropriate fees to the Department. The deadlines for submitting NYS licensure applications in preparation for the Part B, Principles and Practice (PE) Exam are:
- For April 2014 examinations – Deadline is October 18, 2013
- For October examinations - Deadline is May 1st of year in which you take the exam
After your licensure/examination application with experience documentation has been reviewed and approved by the NYS Board for Engineering, you will be sent an eligibility letter. This letter will include instructions on how to schedule the exam with NCEES and pay the examination fee(s) to Castle Worldwide, Inc.
Other Information About the Exams
NCEES limits calculators allowed in examination room.
NCEES policy prohibits calculators that communicate or that may compromise the security of the examination. NCEES publishes a list of the calculators that are acceptable for both Part A - The Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) examination, and Part B - the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) examination. Only the models listed on the NCEES website will be permitted in the examination room.
Review and Rescore Information for PE Examination
PE examination candidates who receive a failing grade may request a manual re-score. The request should be made in writing to the Professional Examinations Unit at OPEXAMS@mail.NYSED.gov no later than 30 days after examination grades are made available to candidates on the NCEES website. There is no review available for the NCEES examination for PE.
Individuals with Disabilities/Sabbath Observers/Military
The process to request a reasonable accommodation or alternate test date will be part of the registration/scheduling process with NCEES and Castle Worldwide through their online system. If you are requesting accommodations, we suggest you begin the process as soon as the NCEES registration process opens for the exam you plan to take, as this will assist in the timely processing of your request.
To qualify for an Intern Engineer Certificate in New York State you must meet the following requirements:
- Graduate of an EAC/ABET approved program in engineering leading to a baccalaureate degree, and
- Successfully complete the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) examination.
Please note that the Intern Engineer Certificate does not qualify you to practice engineering in New York State, but is an attestation of successful completion of the requirements listed above.
Intern Engineer Certificate requires the following documentation:
- Form 1IE – Application for Intern Engineer Certificate along with $70.00 fee, and either
- Form 2 – Certification of Professional Education(submitted to your school for completion upon graduation) OR
- Your New York State school has submitted your education utilizing a Form 20F. You need to check with your New York State school to verify if they utilize and have submitted a Form 20F.
Please note if you have previously submitted a Form 1 and the $70 fee to apply for approval to sit for the FE exam you do not need to submit a Form 1IE and fee.
You may be eligible for licensure in New York State if you:
- meet all requirements for licensure in New York State, except having completed the examination, and
- have been issued a license or a certificate to practice professional engineering upon written examination by a board of examiners in another state or political subdivision of the United States.
The examination for the license or certificate must be equivalent to the examination required in this state at the time it was issued.
You must submit full documentation of compliance with all other New York State licensure requirements including professional education and satisfactory professional experience, among other requirements, as part of your application for licensure by endorsement. New York State does not have a reciprocity/comity agreement with any jurisdiction; if you are applying with a NCEES Record, you would need to submit Form1 and request NCEES to have your current NCEES Record transmitted to us for review.
|Degree:||Field of Study:||Accreditation:||Credits based on
|Work Experience Credits
Required for Part A, Fundamentals Exam:
|Additional Work Experience Credits
Required for Part B, Principles & Practice Exam and for Licensure:
|Bachelor||Science related to engineering||Regional||3||3||6|
|Associate||Engineering Science/Pre-Eng. equivalent||Regional||3||3||6|
|Bachelor||Not directly related to engineering||Regional||2||4||6|
|Associate||Not directly related to engineering||Regional||1||5||6|
|None||No college study||N/A||0||6||6|
|Required Forms & Fees||Path to Licensure or Practive|
|For Admission to Part A of Exam for Non-ABET graduates||For Admission to Part B of Exam||For Admission to Part A & Part B of Exam||Licensure Based on Endorsement|
|With NCEES Record||Without NCEES Record|
|FORM 1 and Fee (see Fees above)||X||X||X||X 1||X|
|FORM 3||X 2||X|
|FORM 4||X 3||X||X||X|
|FORM 4A||X 4||X||X||X|
- Please provide specific information as requested. Do not use the phrase "Refer to NCEES record."
- To document completion of Part A of the examination.
- If experience is required.
- If experience is required.