License Requirements

PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT THE GRANDPARENTING LICENSURE PATHWAY IS THE ONLY AVAILABLE LICENSURE PATHWAY TO PATHOLOGISTS’ ASSISTANTS APPLICANTS UNTIL NOVEMBER 28, 2018.

AS OF NOVEMBER 28, 2018, IN ADDITION TO THE GRANDPARENTING LICENSURE PATHWAY, THE REGULAR LICENSURE PATHWAY WILL BE AVAILABLE TO PATHOLOGISTS’ ASSISTANTS APPLICANTS. APPLICANTS SEEKING LICENSURE UNDER THE REGULAR LICENSURE PATHWAY MUST SATISFY THE REQUIREMENTS CONTAINED IN SECTION 8852 OF THE EDUCATION LAW.

AFTER NOVEMBER 28, 2019, THE GRANPARENTING LICENSURE PATHWAY EXPIRES. HOWEVER, THE LICENSES ISSUED UNDER IT WILL NOT.

Limited permits are also available now for persons who fulfill all the requirements for licensure as a pathologists’ assistant, except for the examination requirements.

General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Education Requirements | Examination Requirements | Applicants Applying under the Grandparenting Licensure Pathway | Limited Permits

General Requirements

Only persons licensed or otherwise authorized as a pathologists’ assistant under Article 168 of the Education Law can practice pathologist assisting or use the title “pathologists’ assistant” or the term “pathologists’ assistant” alone or in combination with other terms and phrases in describing their services and activities or the designation “Path A”.

To be licensed as a pathologists’ assistant in New York State you must:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 21 years of age; and
  • meet education and examination requirements.

You must file an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for licensure are contained in Title 8, Article 168, Section 8852 of New York's Education Law and Part 79-20 of the Commissioner's Regulations.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for licensure and first registration is $200.

The fee for registration renewal is $150 for each triennial period.

The fee for a limited permit is $105.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law or regulation when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    PO Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned


Partial Refunds

Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Pathologists' Assistant Unit at opunit2@nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 260 or by fax at 518-402-2323.
  • The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure fee and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.


Education Requirements

To meet the education requirements for licensure as a pathologists’ assistant, you must either have successfully completed a bachelor’s or higher degree in a pathologists’ assistant program registered by the Department, or the substantial equivalent of such a program as determined by the Department, or have a bachelor’s or higher degree in a National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS) accredited pathologists’ assistant program.


Examination Requirements

To qualify for licensure as a "Licensed Pathologists' Assistant", you must obtain a passing score on an examination acceptable to the Department. The pathologists' assistant certification exam of the American Society of Clinical Pathology Board of Certification (ASCP-BOC) is an exam acceptable for licensure. Please visit www.ascp.org/content/board-of-certification for additional information.


Applicants Applying Under the Grandparenting Licensure Pathway

(This pathway is only available until November 28, 2019.)

Applicants may be eligible for licensure in New York State under the grandparenting licensure pathway if they meet all the requirements for licensure in New York State, except for the examination and education requirements.

Under this pathway applicants may be licensed if they have been performing the duties of a pathologists’ assistant for two of the five years prior to November 28, 2017 and submit an application to the Department prior to November 28, 2019 with an attestation from their supervising physician, who must practice anatomic pathology, attesting to their experience and competence.  Although this pathway will expire, the licenses issued under it will not.

You must submit full documentation of compliance with all New York State licensure requirements, as part of your application for licensure under the grandparenting licensure pathway.


Limited Permits

In addition to licensure, the responsibilities of a licensed pathologists' assistant may be performed under the authority of a limited permit.

A limited permit allows a person who satisfies all requirements for licensure as a pathologists’ assistant except that relating to the examination to practice as a pathologists’ assistant only under the direction and supervision of a licensed physician who practices anatomic pathology and pursuant to the order and direction of that licensed physician. A limited permit expires one year from the date of issuance. However, a limited permit may be extended for one additional year for good cause as determined by the Department. The fee for each limited permit is $105.

In addition to filing the Form 5 and the limited permit fee, you must also submit the Application for Licensure (Form 1), the licensure fee, and have the New York State Education Department approve your education before your application for a limited permit can be approved.

Your limited permit will expire one year from the date of issuance or upon notice that your application for licensure has been denied, or ten days after you have been notified that you failed the professional licensing examination, whichever occurs first. However, if you are awaiting the results of the licensing examination when your limited permit expires, your permit will continue to be valid until ten days after you have been notified of the examination results.

Last Updated: December 4, 2017