Registered Specialist Assistants are skilled in a group of clinical procedures that make up a specialized clinical service. Registered Specialist Assistants work under the supervision of a New York State licensed, currently registered physician qualified to practice in the medical specialty that utilizes the Registered Specialist Assistants' specialized skills. Currently, there are three categories of specialist assistant licensed by the New York State Education Department: orthopedic specialist assistant, urologic specialist assistant and radiologic specialist assistant.
Any use of the title "Registered Specialist Assistant" within New York State requires licensure.
To be licensed as a Registered Specialist Assistant in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character
- be at least 21 years of age
- meet education, examination, and experience requirements
You must submit an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
The fee for licensure is $115.
Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department.
- Your cancelled check is your receipt.
- Mail your application and fee to:
NYS Education Department, Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services, Fee Section
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234-1000
PLEASE NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application any time prior to a determination may be entitled to a partial refund equal to the initial registration portion of the fee they paid.
To withdraw your application and secure a refund of the initial registration fee paid, request a refund by e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org, fax 518-402-5354 or letter to:
New York State Education Department, Office of
Division of Professional Licensing Services, RSA Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, New York 12234-1000
Please include your full name, address, social security number and the profession for which you are withdrawing your licensure application. We will send you a confirmation letter indicating the exact amount of your refund. Should you need additional information, contact the Registered Specialist Assistant Unit at (518) 474-3817 ext. 250.
If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure application and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.
Please note: The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.
You must have completed a course of study in a secondary school whose program is acceptable to the New York State Education Department or have passed an equivalency test, AND meet the requirements for the specialist assistant title for which you are applying:
Applicants must complete item 1 the Exam Requirement and either item 2, 3 (a. or b.) or 4.
- You must pass the National Board Certification Examination
for Orthopedic Physician Assistants (NBCOPA) and have the Professional
Testing Corporation send your exam results to the New York State
Education Department's Office of the Professions. Request an
examination application handbook from:
Professional Testing Corporation
1350 Broadway, 17th Floor
New York, NY 10018
Phone: (212) 356-0660
or visit their web site: www.ptcny.com
Note: If you have not yet passed the exam, contact the Professional Testing Corporation before submitting your application and fee for licensure to determine your eligibility to sit for the exam.
- You must complete a program for the training of orthopedic
assistants or the equivalent that is approved by the New York
State Education Department;
- Complete an educational training program through military
experience leading to orthopedic specialist, orthopedic cast
room technician or orthopedic clinic technician rating and
complete two years of satisfactory experience as an orthopedic
assistant working under the supervision of an orthopedic
surgeon within the past five years, or
- complete medical corps school and five years of satisfactory experience as an orthopedic assistant working under the supervision of an orthopedic surgeon within the past eight years;
- Complete an educational training program through military experience leading to orthopedic specialist, orthopedic cast room technician or orthopedic clinic technician rating and complete two years of satisfactory experience as an orthopedic assistant working under the supervision of an orthopedic surgeon within the past five years, or
- Have completed an extensive health-oriented education and, within the past eight years, have completed five years of satisfactory experience as an orthopedic assistant working under the supervision of an orthopedic surgeon.
Applicants must complete either item 1, 2 or 3.
- You must complete a program for the training of urologic assistants
approved by the New York State Education Department,
- You must complete an educational training program through military
experience leading to urologic surgical technician or urological
technician or clinical specialist rating. You must also complete
two years of satisfactory experience as a urologic assistant
working under the supervision of an urologic surgeon within the
five years before New York State licensure;
- You must complete medical corps school and five years of satisfactory experience as a urologic assistant working under the supervision of a urologic surgeon within the eight years before New York State licensure.
Applicants must complete items 1 and 2.
- You must be licensed as a radiologic technologist by the New
York State Department of Health;
- You must complete a program for the training of radiologic assistants approved by the New York State Education Department.
Reasonable Testing Accommodations For Orthopedic Assistant Applicants
For specific information about reasonable testing accommodations for the NBCOPA Exam, contact Professional Testing Corporation at the address given above.
Infection Control and Barrier Precautions:
Every practicing specialist assistant must complete approved coursework or training appropriate to the professional's practice in infection control and barrier precautions, including engineering and work practice controls, to prevent the transmission of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and the hepatitis B virus (HBV) in the course of professional practice. See additional information and a list of approved providers for this training.