Limited License Requirements

Clinical Laboratory Technologist
Certified Histological Technician

Introduction | General Requirements | Fees | Partial Refunds | Application Methods

Introduction

The Department may grant a limited license and registration to a person who meets specific conditions for the purpose of performing examinations and procedures within the definition of clinical laboratory technology. The limited license may be issued to a person who is employed in a clinical laboratory under the direction of a clinical director so that the person may complete the education requirements and pass the examination required for licensure as a clinical laboratory technologist or certified histological technician in New York State.

Limited licenses will not be valid beyond September 1, 2016 and cannot be renewed.


General Requirements

To be granted a limited license, you must submit an application for a limited license, a separate fee ($371 for clinical laboratory technologist, $263 for certified histological technician), and:

  • show evidence that you meet one of the specific conditions for the limited license as a clinical laboratory technologist or for the limited license as a certified histological technician;
  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 18 years of age;

You must file an Application for a Limited License (Form 1LL) and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material. In addition, you must certify to the Department that you have reviewed the rules and regulations of the New York State Department of Health and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, relating to practice as a clinical laboratory technologist in New York State, in accordance with written guidance from the department.

The specific requirements for licensure are included in Title 8, Article 165, Section 8610 of New York's Education Law and Subparts 79-13 and 79-16 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.


Fees

The fee for a clinical laboratory technologist limited license is $371.

The fee for a certified histological technician limited license is $263.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • Make your personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail your application and fee to:

    NYS Education Department
    Office of the Professions
    PO Box 22063
    Albany, NY 12201

Please Note: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.


Partial Refunds

Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.

  • For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Clinical Laboratory Technology Unit by e-mailing opunit5@nysed.gov or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 592 or by faxing 518-402-2323.
  • The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.

If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.


Application Methods

There are four methods to apply for a limited license. Methods 1-3 are used for applying as a clinical laboratory technologist. Method 4 is used for applying as a certified histological technician.

Clinical Laboratory Technologist

Method 1

Use this method if you already are or have been licensed as a clinical laboratory technologist, or the equivalent as determined by the department, in another jurisdiction.

You must submit, or have submitted on your behalf, the following items and forms to document that you meet these requirements.

  • Form 1LL and the appropriate fee for licensure and first registration
  • Form 2
  • Form 3
Method 2

Use this method if you have received a bachelor's or higher degree in the biological, chemical, or physical sciences, and training in a clinical laboratory, provided such education and training are acceptable to the department. Such training shall include, but need not be limited to, training as a specialist; clinical experience in the practice of clinical laboratory technology, which provides supervised clinical experience that includes hematology, hemostasis, immunohematology, immunology, clinical chemistry, urinalysis/body fluids, and clinical microbiology or the substantial equivalent of such training or clinical experience, as determined by the department

You must submit, or have submitted on your behalf, the following items and forms to document that you meet these requirements.

  • Form 1LL and the appropriate fee for licensure and first registration
  • Form 2
  • Form 2A
  • Form 3 (if applicable)
Method 3

Use this method if you have received a bachelor's degree in the biological, chemical or physical sciences or in mathematics, and served as a research assistant in a research laboratory under the direction of the director or the principal researcher of such research laboratory working on the research and development of any procedures and examinations to be conducted by the laboratory, as defined in Title 5, Article V of the Public Health Law, on material derived from the human body which provides information for the diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of a disease or assessment of a human medical condition.

  • Form 1LL and the appropriate fee for licensure and first registration
  • Form 2
  • Form 2A
  • Form 3 (if applicable)

Certified Histological Technician

Method 4

Use this method if you have received an education acceptable to the department, which includes an associate or higher degree in the biological, chemical or physical sciences.

  • Form 1LL and the appropriate fee for licensure and first registration
  • Form 2
  • Form 3 (if applicable)
Last Updated: February 26, 2014