Questions and Answers
Introduction | General Information | Continuing Education Requirements | Subjects and Providers of Continuing Education | Record Keeping and Reporting | Further Information | Department-approved Sponsors
Effective January 1, 2004, to renew your registration as a chiropractor, New York State Education Law requires completion of 36 contact hours of continuing education in each three-year registration period.
The statutes and regulations that apply to these requirements are available on this site. In addition you may request them by phone 518-474-3817 ext. 190 or fax 518-474-3863 or by writing to the New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Board for Chiropractic, State Education Building - 2nd Floor West Wing, 89 Washington Avenue, Albany, New York, 12234.
This document is designed to respond to frequently asked questions. It is not a substitute for reading the provisions of law, rule or regulation.
- Is there a difference between "licensure" and "registration"?
Yes. In New York State, upon satisfaction of the eligibility requirements, a "license" is awarded. Licensure is for life unless suspended, revoked or annulled for reasons of misconduct.
To practice the profession of chiropractic in New York, a licensee must be currently "registered". Registration is for a three-year period.
- Am I required to take continuing education?
Yes. Every chiropractor using his/her New York license must take continuing education. As a practicing chiropractor, you are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education during each three-year registration period.
- What if there are circumstances which make it impossible for me to
The Department may grant an adjustment to the requirement for reasons, which in the Department's judgment, make it impossible for the licensee to comply. An adjustment may be granted for reasons of health certified by an appropriate health care professional, for extended active duty with the armed forces of the United States, or for other good cause acceptable to the Department which may prevent compliance. You may complete and submit the Registration Remittance Addendum ( 97 KB). For more information regarding an adjustment to this requirement, please contact the Office of the State Board for Chiropractic.
- I just passed all sections of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners'
licensing examination and received my license. Since I am in my first registration
period, do I need to take continuing education courses immediately?
No. You are not required to take continuing education during your first three-year registration period of initial licensure. After that, you must take 36 hours of continuing education in each subsequent registration period.
- I am currently practicing in another state and just received a New
York license by endorsement. Do I need to take continuing education courses
Yes. If you received your New York State license by endorsement, you will be required to complete 36 hours of continuing education during your first three-year registration period.
- When will I be required to begin reporting completion of continuing
You will need to report continuing education when you renew your registration triannually.
- I just received my registration certificate and notice that the registration
period is less than three-years. Am I required to complete a total of 36
contact hours of continuing education for this period?
No, registration periods may be adjusted so that subsequent renewals will occur during a licensee's month of birth. If your registration period is less than three-years, to determine the number of contact hours required, count the number of months of the registration period. You must complete 1 contact hour of continuing education for each month. For example, if your registration period is from 01/01/04 to 06/30/06. This registration period is a 30-month period; therefore, you are required to complete 30 contact hours of continuing education.
- What is an hour of continuing education?
An hour is one contact hour of at least 50 minutes duration, however, some courses may be given in continuing education units. One continuing education unit (CEU) equals 10 contact hours. Therefore, .1 CEU equals one contact hour, .2 CEUs equals two contact hours, and so on.
One semester hour of college-level course work taken over the course of a college semester equals 15 contact hours. One-quarter hour of college-level course work taken over the course of a college semester equals 10 contact hours.
- If I complete more than the 36 contact hours required
for my current registration period may I "carryover" the excess continuing education
hours to my next registration period?
No, continuing education contact hours may not be carried over to subsequent registration periods.
- I am licensed in New York State but my registration
is inactive because I am practicing my profession in another jurisdiction.
Do I need to complete continuing education before I can reactivate my
New York State registration?
The continuing education must be taken in appropriate subject areas offered by approved sponsors. Since you are already actively practicing your profession, you will be able to count acceptable continuing education credits earned up to 36 months prior to the month in which you reactivate your registration.
- I am licensed in New York State but my registration
is inactive because I have not been practicing my profession in any
jurisdiction. Do I need to complete continuing education before I can
reactivate my registration?
The continuing education must be taken in appropriate subject areas offered by approved sponsors. Since you are not actively practicing your professions, you will only be able to count acceptable continuing education credits earned up to 12 months prior to the month in which you reactivate your registration. In addition, you must complete the regular continuing education requirements for the new registration period at a rate of 1 hour per month until your next registration period, up to a maximum of 36 hours.
- Must I take a specific number of continuing education
courses each year during my registration period?
No. As long as you complete the required number of hours prior to the expiration date of your registration, you may take all courses in one year, if you wish.
- Can I earn continuing education credit for the courses that I teach?
Chiropractors may earn up to a maximum of 10 continuing education credits for experience gained as a clinical instructor of a New York state approved chiropractic continuing education course, where such experience demonstrates that the instructor has met competency standards. These credits may be applied once during each three year registration period. Preceptors seeking to claim continuing education credit should download, complete, and keep the Preceptor Evaluation Form with their continuing education records.
- What courses are acceptable for continuing education?
To be acceptable the courses must be administered:
- by an approved New York State sponsor (provider) and
- in an approved subject area
- See question #15 for a listing of approved sponsors and question #16 for a listing of approved subject areas.
Of the total contact hours required:
- two-thirds (24 hours) must be formal courses A formal course is a course in which a student must have the opportunity for immediate interaction with an instructor, e.g. a seminar, workshop, lecture, etc.
- no more than one-third (12 hours) may be in formal self-study courses. A formal self-study course is a course in an approved subject area, that contains structured study based on audio, audio-visual, written, online, or other media, and does not meet the criteria established for live instruction described above. In addition, a self-study program must have a testing instrument, which is completed by the licensee and returned to the sponsor for scoring. A passing grade is required before a sponsor may award continuing education credit. This requirement should not be construed as requiring continuing education testing or continuing education certification.
NOTE: Any course in which a sponsor requires the use of a self-reporting form will not be accepted for NYS continuing education credit.
- Who are approved sponsors (providers)?
There are two types of approved sponsors (providers):
- Any chiropractic college that is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE) and any higher education institution that offers programs that are registered in New York State as leading to licensure in chiropractic are deemed approved sponsors.
- Sponsors (providers) may also be approved directly by the Education Department.
Within New York State there are two postsecondary institutions that are deemed approved sponsors of Mandatory Continuing Education for Chiropractors:
New York Chiropractic College
2360 State Route 89, P.O. Box 800
Seneca Falls, NY 13148-0800
320 Porter Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14201
For a list of other deemed approved sponsors please see www.cce-usa.org ("Directory of CCE Accredited Doctor of Chiropractic Programs and Solitary Purpose Chiropractic Institutions").
For information on sponsors (providers) approved directly by the Department, see below or contact the State Board for Chiropractic by telephone at 518-474-3817 ext. 190, fax at 518-474-3863, e-mail at email@example.com.
NOTE: Courses offered by approved sponsors will only receive continuing education credit if they are in approved subject areas.
- Is there any limitation on the subject matter of
Yes. The subject matter must contribute to your professional and clinical skills. Of the 36 hours required, at least one-third (12 hours) must be in the areas of patient communications, record keeping, and matters of law and/or ethics which contribute to professional practice in chiropractic and the health and safety, and/or welfare of the public. The balance may be in chiropractic technique, diagnosis, clinical interventions/evidence-based models, neurological testing, philosophy and principles of chiropractic, basic and clinical sciences and other sciences related to chiropractic practice or other topics which contribute to professional and clinical skills in accordance with the practice of chiropractic as defined in section 6551 of the Education Law. Also please note that subjects that are specifically designed solely to maximize the profits of a chiropractic practice will not be acceptable as formal continuing education.
- Can I study on my own rather than take a formal or
No. Independent study or informal group "study clubs" of chiropractors that are not approved sponsors can not be accepted. Only formal courses or self-study courses offered by approved sponsors may be counted toward the continuing education requirement. Formal courses offered by approved sponsors assure course content, effective evaluation, and record keeping by the provider.
- Am I required to take self-study courses?
No. If you wish, all the courses may be formal courses in which you interact with an instructor. Of the total number of CE hours required, no more than one-third (12 hours) may be self-study courses.
- Are courses limited to a traditional "classroom setting" in
which I am in the same room with the instructor?
No; however, you must be able to interact with the instructor. Examples include: a live lecture, a telecourse or teleconference in which you and the instructor can speak directly with each other; a course in which you and the other practitioners discuss a taped presentation with a facilitator's assistance; a computerized course in which you are able to interact directly with the instructor. On the other hand, a televised lecture with no means of direct interaction would not be acceptable as a live course even if it were a live telecast.
- What records will I have to keep?
Sponsors must provide a Certificate of Completion to licensees who completed courses for continuing education credit. The information on each course should be retained in your records for six years from the date of completion.
A Certificate of Completion should include the following information:
- name of licensee and licensee number
- title of the course or program, subject area, and any identification number assigned to it by the sponsor
- number of hours completed
- the sponsor's name and any identifying number
- verification by the sponsor of your attendance
- the date and location of the course or activity
- What information must I provide the Education Department
when I renew my registration?
Send your completed registration form, on which you will attest that you completed the required continuing education hours, together with the registration fee, which is currently $179, and the continuing education fee, which is currently $45, for a total of $224.
- Do I have to send my continuing education records
to the Department when I reregister?
No. On the registration renewal form you will be required to certify that you have completed the required coursework. You should retain your CE records in your files for a period of 6 years. However, you are required to make your continuing education records available for inspection by the Education Department upon our request. We audit random samples of mandatory continuing education records to assure compliance with the continuing education requirement.
- What documentation must I provide if my continuing
education records are audited?
Upon request, you must provide the Department with your records of completion for each approved continuing education course or activity. In no cases will self-reporting forms be acceptable for New York State credit.
- What if the audit reveals discrepancies?
You may be subject to disciplinary proceedings for professional misconduct. Willfully making or filing a false report is unprofessional conduct, according to Section 29.1 of the Rules of the Board of Regents. Penalties may include censure and reprimand, fine, and/or suspension or revocation of your license.
- What if I fail to complete the required number of hours?
If you request, the Department, at its discretion, may issue you a conditional registration. The conditional registration is valid for one year only and is not renewable. To be granted a conditional registration you would have to:
- agree to complete the required hours of continuing education from the previous registration period during the period of conditional registration,
- complete the regular continuing education requirement at a rate of 1 hour per month,
- complete and submit the Registration Remittance Addendum ( 97 KB), and
- pay the fee for the conditional registration, which is currently $224.
At the end of the conditional registration period, you must submit to the Department, your continuing education records certifying that you have completed the required continuing education and pay the regular registration fee, which is currently $179, and the continuing education fee, which is currently $45, for a total of $224, for the remaining two years of the registration period.
- How can I obtain more information?
Please contact the Office of the State Board for Chiropractic, New York State Education Department, Office of the Professions, State Education Building - 2nd Floor West Wing, 89 Washington Ave., Albany, New York, 12234, phone 518-474-3817 ext. 190, fax 518-474-3863, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
American Chiropractic Association - Council on Neurology
1875 SW Foxpoint Trail
Palm City, FL 34990
Approved through 5/10
Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research
380 Wright Road
Norwalk, IA 50211
Approved through 9/08
International Chiropractic Pediatric Association
327 N. Middletown Road
Media, PA 19063
Approved through 4/08
New York Chiropractic Council
65-23 70th Avenue
Glendale, NY 11385
Approved through 7/10
New York State Chiropractic Association
PO Box 40
Kattskill Bay, NY 12844
Approved through 7/10
Pennsylvania Chiropractic Association
1335 North Front Street
Harrisburg, PA 17102
Approved through 6/07